Skip to main content

Pathology: Databases

Guide to Oxford University library resources, facilities and services for students and staff in Pathology.
Subjects: Pathology

Guide: OxLIP+

What databases do we subscribe to in medical sciences? Use OxLIP+ to browse our bibliographic databases and other online resources.

Click on the Subject tab and scroll down the list of categories for Medical Sciences.

View groupings for Bibliographic databases, Reference books, e-book collections, and websites.

Here's the full Guide to OxLIP+.

Medline & the National Library of Medicine

Searching the literature

Research Databases at Oxford

Bibliographic databases can help to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books and patents on a particular subject or by a particular author. Oxford's subscription databases can be accessed through OxLIP+ or SOLO.

If you are on campus you can access most databases & e-journals directly. For off-campus access start at SOLO and log in with your Oxford Single Sign-On.

PubMed doesn't cover every scientific journal. To pick up references from elsewhere it's worth searching other medical sciences databases:

Searching OxLip+

Linking Oxford University Subcriptions to Web Sources

PubMed

Open Pubmed through SOLO to get access to "University of Oxford" full-text articles.

  • Go to SOLO and sign in with your Single Sign-On (SSO).
  • Type "PubMed" in the search box.
  • Click "View Online".  
  • Open your NCBI account. If you haven't got one, follow the steps to register.
  • In the "Filters" box select "Manage Filters".
  • Under "Select Category" select "LinkOut".
  • Under "Libraries" scroll and select "University of Oxford".

Google Scholar

Google Scholar with Oxford Link

Follow the steps below to use the "Find it @ Oxford" link and access Oxford subscriptions from Google Scholar results.

  • Open Google Scholar.
  • click "Settings".
  • Select "Library links" from the menu on the left.
  • Look up for  "University of Oxford".
  • Tick and save.

Other Guides

Bioinformatics/Biostatistics Databases

The following databases provide access to data and resources for Bioinformatics. You will find many more Bioinformatics resources under the 'Bioinformatics' tab in this guide.