Skip to main content

Physiology, Anatomy & Genetics: Theses

Guide to Oxford University library resources, facilities and services for DPAG.

Search SOLO

Quick access to research & writing guides

ORA

  Oxford University   Research Archive   (ORA)

ORA is a digital library of research publications by members of the University of Oxford. 

It contains copies of journal articles, conference papers, working papers, theses, reports and other types of scholarly research publication.

The full text of many items is freely available. Members of the University of Oxford may deposit items in ORA.

News From the RSL

Loading

Looking for a thesis?

Are you looking for an Oxford thesis on a research topic? Oxford D.Phil. theses are deposited in the Bodleian Library. To find them search:

SOLO - the library catalogue lists printed and electronic versions. You can add "thesis University of Oxford" to the title or subject keyword in the search box to get better results.

ORA - the Oxford University Research Archive holds digital versions of theses by Oxford D.Phil. students. Find help here: Tips for searching theses in ORA

 

For British theses use:

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: UK & Ireland for theses from British and Irish universities as far back as 1716. 

ETHoS - Electronic Theses Online Service from the British Library.

Both services provide abstracts for most theses and some full-text downloads.

 

For theses from any other universities use:

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global, where you can see a preview before purchasing the full text.

 

DART-Europe E-theses Portal - gives access to open access research theses from 564 Universities in 28 European countries.

 

Plagiarism checking tools

Some of the following tools are only available to students of the University of Oxford through Weblearn:

Read the University academic good practice page.

Check your knowledge and skills on good academic practice and avoiding plagiarism using these interactive online tutorials.

Seek your Supervisor or Tutor's guidance. In addition, your Supervisor or Tutor may decide to submit your work to Turnitin, accessible to teaching staff only. Visit the Turnitin website for product information.

Register with WriteCheck, a pay version of Turnitin for students, recommended on the Oxford Weblearn site. Read the warning on sites offering free checking. 

Consult books - suggested reading:

Neville, C. (2010). The complete guide to referencing and avoiding plagiarism (2nd ed.).  Maidenhead: Open University Press. Title available in e-book and print format - shelfmark LB2369 NEV 2010 in the Radcliffe Science Library 

Pears, R. & Shields, G.J. (2010). Cite them right: the essential referencing guide (8th ed.) Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan. Title available in print format - shelfmark LB2369 PEA 2010 in the Radcliffe Science Library

 

Depositing your electronic copy

D.Phil., M.Litt. and M.Sc. (by Research) students admitted on or after 1 October 2007 who have successfully completed their thesis are required to deposit a digital copy of it.

The digital copy should be deposited in ORA (Oxford University Research Archive). ORA is an open access repository that provides rapid and wide-ranging dissemination of information, and therefore gives maximum visibility to you and your research. ORA content is embedded in SOLO, which means that theses deposited in ORA can be searched for and retrieved via SOLO.

Further information on depositing, and copyright and legal information, are available on the Oxford eTheses page.

Subject Librarian for Medical Sciences

Karine Barker's picture
Karine Barker
Contact:
Radcliffe Science Library
Parks Road
Oxford
OX1 3QP
01865272802
Website / Blog PageSkype Contact
Social:Twitter Page