Skip to main content

SOLO - Search Oxford Libraries Online: Journals & Articles

Help, feedback & workshops

Trying to find SOLO? http://solo.bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Chat to a Librarian:

chat loading...

Email a Librarian:  Use our Ask an Oxford librarian service.  Alternatively for detailed help with searching in your subject area please contact your subject librarian.

SOLO workshops - Book a place at our Getting Started workshop.

Items which are not held in Oxford? - If you wish to use an item which is not held in Oxford, it may be possible to request an interlibrary loan

Catalogue errors - Please report any errors or correctionsto the Bibliographic Maintenance Team.

SOLO Feedback - Please use the SOLO feedback form to tell us what you think about the interface and the general SOLO user experience.

Finding and using journal articles (video)

This video tutorial below (Finding & using journal articles: using SOLO to access articles in print, online and via Electronic Legal Deposit) covers searching SOLO for specific journal articles, for examples from a reading list or bibliography. It covers the different methods for finding journal articles and how to make the most of both printed and electronic articles. It does not cover doing a literature search for journal articles on a topic.

Please note that the tutorial opens in a new window. If you would prefer to read written instructions rather than viewing the video, please skip to the text instructions.

 

 

Finding and using journal articles (text)

Searching for journals in SOLO 

You can search SOLO using the Oxford Collections tab,  the Articles & More tab or the Search everything tab

  • Oxford Collections covers both physical and electronic books, journals and other items in Oxford Libraries. It is the most comprehensive tool for accessing printed and electronic items and it is your best starting point.
  • Articles and More covers a wide selection of electronic journal articles. It is a convenient way of making a quick search for journal articles but is not at all comprehensive. If you rely too much on “Articles and more” you may miss important items for your research
  • Search everything covers both Oxford Collections and “Articles and more” but you may find that it returns too many results

 

The three tabs are also searched in different ways.

If you are searching for journal articles, it is important to remember that when you search Oxford Collections you should search using the journal title, not the article title.     For example if you were searching for the article Frank, M. & Reinisch, J. (2014) ‘Refugees and the Nation-State in Europe, 1919–59’, Journal of Contemporary History, vol. 49, no. 3, pp. 477-490 you would search Oxford collections for Journal of Contemporary History

 

However, if you were using the Articles & More tab you should search by article title.  For example, if you were looking for the same article, that is Frank, M. & Reinisch, J. (2014) ‘Refugees and the Nation-State in Europe, 1919–59’, Journal of Contemporary History, vol. 49, no. 3, pp. 477-490, you would search by the article title, namely “Refugees and the Nation State in Europe"


 

Searching Articles & More is very convenient, but it is far from comprehensive, so in most cases you should search using the Oxford Collections tab and enter the journal title.

Enter the journal title in the Oxford Collections search box.   If the journal has a very common name it can be useful to choose the option Journals from the first drop down menu beneath the search box.

In many cases you will find that there is more than one version of the journal, click View all... versions to see the different versions.  

Choosing between different versions of the same journal

In the screen shot below, you will see three "versions" of the Journal of Contemporary History.

  1. The first version is a printed copy, you can tell this because it has a Find and Request option.
  2. The second is an electronic subscription or open access journal, you can tell this because it has a View online option but not a restrictions notice. 
  3. The third is the electronic legal deposit version, you can tell this because it has a restrictions notice.  

In most cases you will want to use the electronic subscription version of the journal.

 

Using electronic subscription and open access journals

To use a subscription or open access ejournal

  1. Click View Online
  2. A new window will open, listing one or more databases that hold the journal. In the example below, the Journal of Contemporary History is available from JSTOR Arts and Science II, ProQuest PAO Periodicals Archive Online Collection, Sage Deep Backfile Package 2007 and Sage Premier 2013.
  3. Beneath each database you will see the date coverage. So for example, JSTOR has this journal from 1966-2010, ProQuest has it from 1966-1995, Sage Deep Backfile has it from 1966-1997 and Sage Premier has it from 1999 onwards.    Pay careful attention to the date coverage before choosing a database. For example, if you were looking for an article published in 2014 you would need to choose Sage Premier 2013.
  4. To connect to a database, simply click on the link.
     

Using the printed version of a journal

To use the printed version of a journal:

  1. Click Find & Request to see which Libraries have the journal.   For example, in the screen shot below we can see that Journal of Contemporary History is available in print in All Souls College Library and the Bodleian Library. (Note - it is also available in a number  of other College Libraries which are not shown in the screen shot) 
     

  2. Click on the +/- sign next to a Library to see the volumes/issues available and the shelfmark.    Notice the Summary Holdings statement which appears above the list of volumes. This explains the volumes/issues and date ranges available. For example, we can see in the screen shot above that the Bodleian Library first started taking this journal in 1966 and received its last copy in October 2013.  We can also see that this journal is now only taken as electronic copy.
  3. Scroll through the list of volumes/issues to find the issue that you wish to use.  If it is kept in the Closed stack, you will need to place a Hold to order it to a reading room.  (> see requesting an item from the closed stack for more information).

Using the electronic legal deposit version of a journal

To use the electronic legal deposit version of a journal:

  1.  Click View Online.
  2. This will take you to another SOLO page, this time listing all the articles in the electronic Legal Deposit version of the journal. In the screen shot below you will see that there are 52 articles in the electronic Legal Deposit version of Journal of Contemporary History.


     
  3. If you are looking for a specific article you can refine the list of articles by choosing one of the Refine you results options on the left.  For example, in the screen shot above, I have chosen the author's name from the list of creators.

    Alternatively you can refine your results by adding some keywords to the search box at the top of the screen.  If you decide to add keywords, then it is sensible to insert them after the number that starts bl as this tells SOLO which journal you have chosen. For example, in the screen shot below, I have added keywords from the article title to bl12907160.   The bl number was already in the search box (so I did not need to enter it) and tells SOLO that I'm searching in Journal of Contemporary History. Every electronic legal deposit journal on SOLO has a unique bl number and so this technique will work for any journal.


     
  4. Once you have found the article that you want to use click View online.   
  5. You will briefly see an Ericom AccessNow window. Followed by the licence agreement.  Please read through the licence agreement carefully.

  6. Once you have connected to the article, you will be able to read it on screen.

    • You can use the options which run across the top of the article to search for keywords or to change the page layout or font size
    • Don't forget to close the article when you have finished, as each article may only be viewed by one person at a time and so if you leave it open you will be preventing someone else from using it.

 

 

Printing Electronic Legal Deposit Items

You can make a print out of an electronic Legal Deposit item by using the Print option at the top of the page.   Once you have clicked the print icon, there will be a short pause, after which you will be prompted to enter your PCAS username and password. This is the account that you use to pay for self service photocopies, print outs and scans in the Bodleian Libraries. You can find out more about PCAS and set up your account on the Bodleian Libraries PCAS web pages.

Alternatively, you can request a print out using the Bodleian Libraries Print and Deliver service.   The print out will then be sent to you by post.  Please note

  • for legal reasons we are unable to provide electronic copies of electronic Legal Deposit items. Instead the item has to be printed out and delivered in hard copy by post
  • for legal reasons we may only supply you with a print out of one article from each journal issue

The charges for the print and deliver service are:

  • 40p per page for  deliveries in the UK deliveries
  • 45p per page for deliveries in the EU
  • 50 per page for deliveries outside the EU


You will need to pay for your print outs using a PCAS account. This is the account that you use to pay for self service photocopies, print outs and scans in the Bodleian Libraries. You can find out more about PCAS and set up your account on the Bodleian Libraries PCAS web pages.

To order a print out:

  1. Find the electronic Legal Deposit item that you wish to order on SOLO
  2. Click Details followed by Print and Deliver (this is on the right hand side of the screen)

     
  3. You will be prompted to log in to SOLO in the normal way.  (> Find out more about signing in to SOLO)
  4. Once you have signed in you will be taken to a form where you will be prompted to enter your address, PCAS username and password and the details of the item you wish to order
  5. Once we have received your order we will print it out within 24 hours on weekdays and put it in the post so that you get it as soon as possible

Finding an alternative copy

If at any point you wish to find an alternative copy of an electronic Legal Deposit article which is subject to fewer restrictions, click How else can I get this?  This will prompt SOLO to search for a subscription or open access copy of the article.

 

Searching for other articles in the same issue of a journal

Sometimes, having found an electronic Legal Deposit article on SOLO, you may wish to find other articles in the same issue of the journal. To find other articles in the same issue:

  1. Find the original article in SOLO
  2. Click Details
  3. Click Search for other articles in the same issue (this option is on the right hand side)

  4. SOLO will then list other electronic legal deposit articles in the same issue of the journal.

 

 

Getting help

What to do if you can't find the journal or article that you require.

If you are unable to find the journal or article that you require please contact a member of staff. We may well be able to locate a copy for you or acquire a copy for you using our Inter Library Loan service.