Skip to main content

SOLO - Search Oxford Libraries Online: Coverage

Help, feedback & workshops

Trying to find SOLO? http://solo.bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Chat to a Librarian:

chat loading...

Email a Librarian:  Use our Ask an Oxford librarian service.  Alternatively for detailed help with searching in your subject area please contact your subject librarian.

SOLO workshops - Book a place at our Getting Started workshop.

Items which are not held in Oxford? - If you wish to use an item which is not held in Oxford, it may be possible to request an interlibrary loan

Catalogue errors - Please report any errors or correctionsto the Bibliographic Maintenance Team.

SOLO Feedback - Please use the SOLO feedback form to tell us what you think about the interface and the general SOLO user experience.

What is SOLO and what does it cover?

SOLO is the catalogue of the major collections of the libraries of the University of Oxford.  It covers:

  • the physical holdings of the majority of libraries within the University of Oxford including the Bodleian Libraries and most College and Departmental Libraries
  • The University's collections of e-books, e-journals and databases
  • Materials which the Bodleian Libraries received via electronic legal deposit (eLD)
  • Research papers and theses deposited in the Oxford Research Archive (ORA).

SOLO is divided into three search tabs: Oxford Collections, Articles & More and Search Everything.

A. Oxford Collections 

The Oxford Collections tab is the best tab to use when searching for a specific item in Oxford's printed or electronic collections. It searches:

1. Printed and Physical Holdings

Oxford Collections searches the vast majority of the printed and physical holdings of the Bodleian Libraries and most Colleges and other libraries affiliated with the University of Oxford.     At the moment it does not search:

  • most manuscript collections (with the exception of theses) held in Bodleian Libraries.  For information about catalogues and finding aids covering the Bodleian's manuscript collections please see the Special Collections guide
  • the John Johnson Collection of printed ephemera

2.  Electronic books, journals and databases

Oxford Collections searches the electronic holdings of the Bodleian Libraries including our world class collections of subscription e-journals, e-books and databases, plus journal titles received via Electronic Legal Deposit (> find out more about Electronic Legal Deposit). 

Please note that when you search for electronic journals and databases from SOLO Oxford collections you may only search by journal or database title. You may not search within the journal or database itself. For example, in Oxford collections you can search for the journal Nature but you can not search for articles within Nature.  Similarly you can search for the database JSTOR but you can not search for articles within JSTOR. If you want to search for articles within journals and databases from SOLO use the Articles & more tab instead.    You can search for e-books by author, title or subject headings, but again you can not search within e-books from the Oxford Collections tab.

3. Items scanned as part of the Oxford Google Books Project

Oxford Collections searches scanned versions of (mainly 19th century) library materials digitised as part of the Oxford Google Books project.  > Find out more about the Oxford Google Books project.

4. Oxford Research Archive (ORA)

Oxford Collections searches research papers and theses by members of Oxford University which have been deposited in the Oxford Research Archive.  >Find out more about ORA

5.  Chinese and Japanese materials

Oxford Collections searches Chinese and Japanese materials catalogued on the Bodleian Library Allegro Chinese and Allegro Japanese catalogues

B.  Articles & More

The Articles and More tab searches for journal articles and papers drawn from two sources:

1. Primo Central - Primo Central is a cross-disciplinary resource comprising citations to about 400 million journal articles.   Please note that Primo Central performs a broad search engine type search which is comparable to Google Scholar and lacks many of the features and functionality of specialist subject databases. If you need to complete a thorough literature or systematic review, you are therefore advised to consult specialist databases in your subject area or to seek help from your subject librarian

2.  Journal articles deposited via Electronic Legal Deposit. > find out more about Electronic Legal Deposit.


C.  Search Everything

The Search Everything tab searches:

  • Oxford's physical and electronic collections
  • Articles and other electronic materials in Primo Central and deposited via Electronic Legal Deposit

The Search Everything tab can be unwieldy to search.

SOLO Oxford Collections

SOLO Oxford Collections searches:

1.  Printed and Physical Holdings

SOLO searches the vast majority of the printed and physical holdings of the Bodleian Libraries and most Colleges and other libraries affiliated with the University of Oxford.     At the moment is does not search:

  • most manuscript collections (with the exception of theses) held in Bodleian Libraries.  For information about catalogues and finding aids covering the Bodleian's manuscript collections please see the Special Collectiions guide
  • the John Johnson Collection of printed ephemera

2.  Electronic books, journals and databases

SOLO searches the electronic holdings of the Bodleian Libraries including our world class collections of subscription e-journals, e-books and databases, plus journal titles recieved via Electronic Legal Deposit (> find out more about Electronic Legal Deposit).

3. Items scanned as part of the Oxford Google Books Project

SOLO searches scanned versions of (mainly 19th century) library materials digitised as part of the Oxford Google Books project.  > Find out more about the Oxford Google Books project.

4. Oxford Research Archive (ORA)

SOLO  searches research papers and theses by members of Oxford University which have been deposited in the Oxford Research Archive.  >Find out more about ORA

5.  Chinese and Japanese materials

SOLO searches Chinese and Japanese materials catalogued on the Bodleian Library Allegro Chinese and Allegro Japanese catalogues