Skip to main content

Finding Aids - Music Collections: Music manuscripts from other libraries on microfilm

A guide to the finding aids available for the music collections in the Bodleian Library.

Libraries & Reading Rooms

Bodleian Library (Weston Library)

Mackerras Reading Room

The Music reading room of the Bodleian Library is located in the Sir Charles Mackerras Room on Level One of the Weston Library and is the reading room for all music materials. The reading room and the adjacent Gallery area contain the open shelf collections of music literature, a selection of composer collected editions and other music series, a large collection of music manuscripts on microfilm and some runs of music journals. For reasons of space, printed copies of journals which are available online are not kept on the open shelves but there is a large selection of current issues of music journals for browsing along with a display of recently-acquired books on music in the Mackerras Room.

Music manuscripts and some printed scores are kept in closed access within the building and can normally be fetched within two hours.  (There is no fetching service for Music on Saturdays.)  Most other printed music is stored offsite but can be ordered to the Mackerras Reading Room for consultation, along with other closed stack material.  Deliveries of offsite material are made twice daily (Mon-Fri) but please allow at least 24 hours for requested items to reach the reading room.  (For more details of book delivery times, click here.) If you are visiting the Library from a distance, it is advisable to contact Music section staff in advance so that we can pre-order material for you.  Music manuscripts are ordered on the green slips provided in the reading rooms.  Printed music should be requested via SOLO.  Scores stored in the Weston Library stacks can be identified by the prefix "(W)" in the shelfmark.

Within the reading room, music enquiries can be directed to the Reserve desk from where specialist assistance from Music staff can be summoned. If you need to consult music manuscripts or other special collections material, please consult Music section staff in the first instance. For help with finding music materials, click here.

Sir Charles Mackerras Reading Room (Weston Library)

 

Music Faculty Library

The Music Faculty Library is located in the Music Faculty building in St Aldates and is primarily a lending collection in support of those studying and teaching Music within the University.

Music Faculty Library

Music Manuscripts from Christ Church, Oxford

Music Manuscripts from the Great English Collections. Series 3: Christ Church, Oxford (Weston Library Gallery – MUS. FILMS 13):


Part 1: Unpublished English Manuscripts of the 16th and 17th Centuries (Guide http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/2036001A.pdf)
Part 2: Unpublished English Manuscripts of the 16th and 17th Centuries (Guide http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/2036002A.pdf)
Part 3: Unpublished Continental Manuscripts of the 16th and 17th Centuries (Guide http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/2036003A.pdf)

Music manuscripts from Cambridge libraries

Music Manuscripts from the Great English Collections. Series 6: Cambridge Libraries (Weston Library Gallery – MUS. FILMS 6):


Part 1: Mss. before 1850 from Cambridge Univ. Library and Ely Cathedral (Guide http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/2039001A.pdf)
Part 2: Manuscripts in the Rowe Music Library, King’s College, Cambridge (Guide http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/2039002A.pdf)
[Part 3: Handel Manuscripts in the Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge]  Not available
Part 4: English Mss. before c.1880 in the Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge (Guide http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/2039004A.pdf)
Part 5: Continental Mss. from the Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge. Section A (Guide http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/2039005A.pdf)
Part 6: Continental Mss. from the Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge. Section B (Guide http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/2039006A.pdf)

Music manuscripts from the Royal College of Music

Music Manuscripts from the Great English Collections. Series 5: The Music Collection of the Royal College of Music, London (Weston Library Gallery – MUS. FILMS 7):

Part 1: English Music Manuscripts before c. 1800. Section A (Guide http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/2038001A.pdf)
Part 2: English Music Manuscripts before c. 1800. Section B (Guide http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/2038002A.pdf)
Part 3: Continental Music Manuscripts before c. 1850. Section A (Guide http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/2038003A.pdf)
Part 4: Continental Music Manuscripts before c. 1850. Section B (Guide http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/2038004A.pdf)
Part 5: Continental Music Manuscripts before c. 1850. Section C (Guide http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/2038005A.pdf)
Part 6: Continental Music Manuscripts before c. 1850. Section D (Guide http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/2038006A.pdf)
Part 7: English Music from c. 1800 to c. 1870. Section A (Guide http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/2038007A.pdf)
Part 8: English Music from c. 1800 to c. 1870. Section B (Guide http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/2038008A.pdf)
Part 9: English Music from c. 1870 to c. 1930 (Guide http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/2038009A.pdf)

Music Manuscripts from the National Library of Scotland

Early Music. Part 2: Music Manuscripts, 1500-1793, from the National Library of Scotland (Adam Matthew Publications) [14 reels]. (Weston Library Gallery – MUS. FILMS 11):

Guide: http://www.ampltd.co.uk/digital_guides/early_music_part_2/Contents.aspx

The Gerald Coke Handel Collection

Music Manuscripts from the Great English Collections. Series 8: The The Gerald Coke Handel Collection (Weston Library Gallery – MUS. FILMS 10):

Part 1: Manuscripts of individual works. [Reels 1-21] (Guide http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/2041001A.pdf)
Part 2: Composite volumes, and additional printed and ms. items [Reels 22-34] (Guide http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/2041002A.pdf)
Part 3: The Shaftsbury manuscripts [Reels 35-53] (Guide http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/2041003A.pdf)

Other microfilms

The Library has a number of other microfilms of early printed music, and various individual manuscripts from different sources. The Music Faculty Library also possesses a considerable number of microfilms which will soon be transferred to the central Bodleian. Some of these are included in SOLO but not yet all of them. More detail of these additional films will be added to these pages in due course.

If you are looking for a microfilm of a manuscript not covered by the sets of films described in these pages, please contact the Music subject librarian or speak to Music staff in the Sir Charles Mackerras Room.

Subject Guide

Special Collections's picture
Special Collections
Contact:
Weston Library, Broad Street, Oxford, OX1 3BG
+44 (0)1865 277150