Skip to main content

Finding Aids - Music Collections: Bodleian music manuscripts on microfilm

A guide to the finding aids available for the music collections in the Bodleian Library.

Principal Bodleian music manuscript collections on microfilm

Music Manuscripts from the Great English Collections. Series 1: Bodleian Library, Oxford (Weston Library Gallery – MUS. FILMS 3):

• Part 1: Unpublished Manuscripts of the 16th and 17th Centuries [The Oxford Music School Collection] [19 reels] (Guide http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/2034001A.pdf)
• Part 2: Court Odes of William Boyce [20 reels] (Guide http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/2034002A.pdf
• Part 3: Manuscripts of Maurice Greene and William Boyce [17 reels] (Guide http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/2034003A.pdf)
• Part 4: Unpublished English Manuscripts before c.1850. Section A [19 reels] (Guide http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/2034004A.pdf)
• Part 5: Unpublished English Manuscripts before c.1850. Section B [23 reels](Guide http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/2034005A.pdf)
• Part 6: Unpublished Continental Mss.: 14th, 17th and 18th Centuries [15 reels] (Guide http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/2034006A.pdf)

Tenbury collection manuscripts on microfilm

Music Manuscripts from the Great English Collections. Series 2: St. Michael’s College, Tenbury (Weston Library Gallery – MUS. FILMS 4):


• Part 1: Unpublished English and Continental Mss. before 1650 [14 reels] (Guide http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/2035001A.pdf)
• Part 2: Unpublished Manuscripts, 1650-1800 [19 reels] (Guide http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/2035002A.pdf)
• Part 3: Unpublished Continental Mss. 17th, 18th and 19th Centuries [22 reels] (Guide http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/2035003A.pdf)
• Part 4: Unpublished Continental Mss. 17th, 18th and 19th Centuries [22 reels] (Guide http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/2035005A.pdf)
• Part 5: Unpublished English Manuscripts of the 19th Century [10 reels] (Guide http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/2035005A.pdf)

Deneke Mendelssohn collection on microfilm

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy: The ‘Green Books’ of Incoming Correspondence [27 reels] (Weston Library Gallery - MUS. FILMS 5)

MSS. M. Deneke Mendelssohn b.4, and d.28-53

Indexed in: Catalogue of the Mendelssohn papers in the Bodleian Library, Oxford. Compiled by Margaret Crum. Vol. 1. Tutzing : Schneider, 1980. (DH – MUS. F. MEN. 5)

Microfilms of the following manuscripts from the Deneke Mendelssohn collection are also available:

MS. M. Deneke Mendelssohn b.2
MS. M. Deneke Mendelssohn c.21
MS. M. Deneke Mendelssohn d.2
MS. M. Deneke Mendelssohn g.1-10

Finzi collection on microfilm

Twentieth Century Composers

Part 1: Music Manuscripts of Tippett, Bliss and Finzi (Weston Library Gallery - MUS. FILMS 9) (Guide http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/2057001A.pdf)

Subject Guide

Special Collections's picture
Special Collections
Contact:
Weston Library, Broad Street, Oxford, OX1 3BG
+44 (0)1865 277150