Skip to main content

EDC: European Documentation Centre: EDC shelfmarks

Subjects: Law, Official Papers

EDC Reference

The small reference collection contains bibliographical guides and books about the EU.  It can be found at the end of the main collection, and is arranged in the following order:

EDC/EC.1

General works & guides

EDC/EC.2-5

Bibliographies & indexes

EDC/EC.6

European Parliament

EDC/EC.8

European Communities

EDC/EC.9

Single European Market

EDC/EC per.1-

Journals

The EDC classificaton scheme

Within each section, you will find books and pamphlets first, by year of publication e.g. EC/HA 1989(1), then periodicals and series e.g. EC/A per.3.

EDC/EF

European Foundation for the Improvement of Living & Working Conditions

EC/Bib

Bibliographic works

EC/0

European Union General (includes enlargement publications)

EC/0(T)

Treaties

EC/01

European Coal and Steel Community

EC/02

European Economic Community

EC/03

European Atomic Energy Community

EC/1

Commission

EC/2

Council

EC/3

European Parliament

EC/4

Court of Justice

EC/5

Economic and Social Committee

EC/6

European Investment Bank now European Central Bank

EC/7

Committee of the Regions

EC/8

European Monetary Institute

EC/9

European Agency for the Evaluation of Medicinal Products

EC/A

General economic affairs

EC/AL

Regional policy

EC/B

Financial and monetary affairs

EC/C

Industry (including business, enterprise and consumer policy)

EC/CL

Energy

EC/CM

Coal and steel

EC/D

Agriculture and food

EC/E

Competition (until 1978 only; see EC/F after that date)

EC/F

Trade, customs, internal market, competition

EC/G

External affairs and development

EC/H

Social affairs (includes publications on women)

EC/HA

Labour and employment, migration, trade unions, wages

EC/HB

Social welfare (including housing, health and safety)

EC/HC

European Agency for Safety and Health at Work

EC/HD

Education (including industrial training)

EC/HL

Population

EC/HN

Environment

EC/J

Law

EC/K

Transport

EC/L Tourism
EC/T Science and technology, information science and patents