Skip to main content

Old Norse-Icelandic language and literature at the EFL: e-Journals

Subjects: English

Introduction to e-Journals

Advantages of e-Journals

  • Searchable by subject, author or article title
  • Available online anytime, anywhere

Finding e-Journals

Use Find e-Journal via OxLIP+ to find and connect to journals when you know the title. This method is not suitable for keyword or author searching. For this, use Find Database to identify and connect to an index such as the MLA Bibliography.

Remote access

If you are not connected to the Oxford network you will need to login with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password to gain full access to e-journals.

Find out more about eJournals and eResources using OxLip+.

Searching for specific e-Journals

OU eJournals

If you know the title of the journal you are looking for you can search for it using SOLO or Find e-Journal to see if an online version is available. You can then access a particular article or browse the most recent issues of the journal. You can also use keywords to search within a particular title. If the coverage you require is not available online, a link is available from within Oxford e-journals to print holdings listed on SOLO.

MLA Bibliography

The MLA International Bibliography:

  • Indexes articles from over 4,000 humanities journals
  • Allows you to search for articles by author, subject, title or combined keywords
  • Provides links to Oxford e-Journals and SOLO for articles, where available
  • Is better than searching Google

Take a look at the ProQuest Getting started with the MLA guide.

Useful titles

Journal titles are becoming increasingly interdisciplinary rather than subject specific, although most of these journals, available via OU Ejournals, are more specifically related to Old Norse-Icelandic studies: