Skip to main content

Old Norse-Icelandic language and literature at the EFL: About the EFL's collections

Subjects: English

Guðbrandur Vigfússon

 

Guðbrandur Vigfússon by H.M. Paget, 1889,
English Faculty, University of Oxford

York Powell books

Rare books from the York Powell collection

The EFL's Old Norse-Icelandic collections

About our collections

Below is a brief description of the EFL's collections, which have benefited from the donations of several Oxford scholars.

The lending collection

Books from this collection can be borrowed. It includes texts, critical works, journals and important facsimile editions. It has benefited from the addition of volumes from the personal library of Professor E.O.G Turville-Petre (1908–1978), Professor of Ancient Icelandic Literature and Antiquities at Oxford, much of which was donated on his death in 1978. The lending collection is held on closed access in the Turville-Petre Room. (Shelfmark: CJ)

The Turville-Petre collection

Turville-Petre's remaining books, journals and offprints are held on closed access in the Owen Room. Most of his material directly related to Old Norse-Icelandic has been added to the lending colleciton. What remains is a mixture of works on Old English and other Scandinavian laguages and literature. Access is as for special collections. (Shelfmark: TP)

The W.P. Ker collection

This collection contains some of the Old Norse books of W.P. Ker (1855–1923) including some antiquarian material. It is on permanent loan from All Souls College, where Ker was a Fellow. About 60% of the collection is held in the Bodleian Library. Access is as for special collections. (Shelfmark EE)

The York Powell collection

The York Powell collection consists of volumes from the libraries of Guðbrandur Vigfússon (1827–1889) (Oxford's first Lecturer in Ancient Icelandic Literature and Antiquities from 1884) and Frederick York Powell (1850–1904). It contains many rare editions of important Icelandic, Scandinavian and German works from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries and some of Vigfússon's personal documents. It is on permanent loan from Christ Church College and is held on closed access in the Turville-Petre Room. Access is as for special collecitons. (Shelfmark A., B. and C.)