Skip to main content

English Language: a short guide to online resources: eBooks & reference

Subjects: English

Introduction to eBooks

eBooks are an extremely valuable and often underused resource. Key reference works are available online and provide you with full search facilities so it is much easier and quicker to search for specific terms and themes than it would be to search indexes in the print copy. There is also the obvious advantage of being able to use eBooks when libraries are closed and when the titles you require are out on loan and in heavy demand.

SOLO: A number of relevant monographs are accessible via SOLO, just search for the title you require and, if an electronic version is available, a link will be provided.

As a result of Oxford's partnership with Google (which involved scanning the Bodleian Libraries' out-of-copyright holdings, in particular those from the 19th century), links to the PDF versions of these books are now being added to SOLO. Please go to the Oxford Google Books Project webpage for more information about what has been included and how you can access them.

Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics

The Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics covers the full range of topics in contemporary linguistics, with coverage across all aspects of spoken, written and signed language.

Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics (Second Edition)
Editor-in-Chief:   Keith Brown
ISBN: 978-0-08-044854-1

(N.B. If you are not connected to the Oxford network you will need to login with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password to gain full access to the above online resource)

Blackwell Reference Online

Blackwell Reference Online provides full text access to key reference works. The texts are fully searchable and chapters can be read online in html format. You can browse the Linguistics section to find the titles you require or search a particular title or the whole collection.

This title is particularly useful for Paper 1:
A Companion to the History of the English Language

Edited by: HARUKO MOMMA and MICHAEL MATTO
eISBN: 9781405129923
Print publication date: 2008

Other examples from the collection include:

The Handbook of English Linguistics
Edited by: Bas Arts and April McMahon
eISBN: 9781405113823
Print publication date: 2006

The Handbook of World Englishes
Edited by: Braj B. Kachru, Yamuna Kachru and Cecil L. Nelson
eISBN: 9781405111850
Print publication date: 2006

The Handbook of Language and Gender
Edited by: Janet Holmes and Miriam Meyerhoff
eISBN: 9780631225034
Print publication date: 2004

(N.B. If you are not connected to the Oxford network you will need to login with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password to gain full access to these ebooks)

Oxford Reference Online

Oxford Reference Online brings together over 175 Quick Reference works published by Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource. The English Dictionaries and Reference section includes regional English dictionaries (Australian, Canadian, New Zealand and American Englishes) and English grammar and usage guides.

English Dictionaries & Thesauruses

English Language Reference

(N.B. If you are not connected to the Oxford network you will need to login with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password to gain full access to the above online resources)

The Cambridge History of the English Language

The Cambridge history of the English language [electronic resource]
General editor: Richard M. Hogg.
Publisher: Cambridge : Cambridge University Press
Publication date: 1992-2001

Cambridge Collections Online

Cambridge Collections Online provides fully searchable online editions of all the Cambridge Companions series in Literature, Classics, Philosophy, Religion and Culture.  You can search by specific title and also by keyword within the text. Individual chapters can be viewed as pdf files, which replicate the print version of the book, or in html for onscreen viewing.

You can take a brief 'guided tour' of Cambridge Collections Online at: http://cco.cambridge.org/stored_media?id=fragments_pdf_guided_tour

(N.B. If you are not connected to the Oxford network you will need to login with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password to gain full access to the above online resource)