Skip to main content

Earth Sciences: Journal Articles & Offprints

Subjects: Earth Sciences

Guide: Citation Searching

Citation searching (finding out which articles have cited an article or book after publication) can be done on Web of Knowledge or for articles published after 1996 on SCOPUS.

OvidSP is also beginning to include this facility.

Google Scholar also has 'cited by' links but these are not yet fully reliable.

Guide: TOCs & Alerts

ZETOC logo Provides  access  to the British Library's Electronic Table of Contents of current journals and conference proceedings. Zetoc database covers 1993 to date, and is updated on a daily basis.

You can Search for citations of journal articles and conference proceedings; Set up, modify and delete email Alert; Set up RSS feeds for journals.

 

 JournalTOCsThe  JournalTOCs  Journal Tables of Contents service makes it easy for academics, researchers, students and anyone else to keep up-to-date with newly published scholarly material by enabling them to find, display, store, combine and reuse thousands of journal tables of contents from multiple publishers.

With ticTOCs, it only takes a tick or two to keep up to date.

Key Resources

GeoRef

The GeoRef database from the American Geological Institute (AGI) provides access to the geoscience literature of the world from 1666 to the present and contains over 3.2 million records.

SCOPUS

SCOPUS is a multi-subject database that provides access to journal articles and other academic resources for topics including development studies, the earth sciences, ecology, geomechanics, human geography, and oceanography.

Web of Science containing

  • Science Citation Index (ISI)
  • Journal Citation Reports
  • Inspec (from Autumn 2011)

 ProQuest containing

  • ASFA Aquatic Sciences
  • Conference Papers Index
  • Earthquake Engineering Abstracts
  • Environmental Engineering Abstracts
  • Oceanic Abstracts
  • Pollution Abstracts
  • Water Resources Abstracts

Lyell Collection (from the Geological Society of London)

For additional help see Training Presentations 

Guide: GeoRef

The GeoRef database from the American Geological Institute (AGI) provides access to the geoscience literature of the world from 1666 to the present and contains over 3.2 million records.

However it is also broken down into various date range subsets, including just the last decade.

"Advanced" or "Multi-Field" searching should always be used.

Because the information required can be very place specific this database includes searchable fields for map coordinates, map scale & map type.

Note that map coordinates are available in records from 1977 forward and are included only where an area can be defined precisely.

This facility is lost if searching across more than 1 database

 

Guide: Finding On-line Papers

E-print Network    An integrated network of electronic scientific and technical information, all full-text searchable. It is a gateway to over 34,000 websites and databases worldwide, containing over 5.5 million e-prints in basic and applied sciences, including subject areas such as physics, chemistry, earthsciences, engineering, energy research, computer and information technologies.

ORA

 Oxford  University  Research  Archive (ORA) contains  research publications and other research output produced by members of the University of Oxford. Content includes copies of journal articles, conference papers, d.phil. theses and other types of research publications.

Guide: Google Scholar

 To get the best  out of Google  Scholar:

- Always use the Advanced Search option

-Use as many relevant keywords as possible when searching;
- If you have a phrase "put it in quotation marks";
- Use a minus sign before a word to exclude it from the search;
- On campus you will have links to 'Find it at Oxford', off campus you can activate these by searching for Oxford on the Library Links option in Scholar Preferences;
- If you use Endnote or Refworks you can set these as your bibliographic manager preference in Scholar Preferences.