Skip to main content

Frisian: E-books & Reference

Frisian language and literature
Subjects: Frisian

Key Resources

Frisian Dictionary (Wurdboek fan de Fryske Taal, monolingual dictionary)

Modern Frisian language database

Middle Frisian language database

Old Frisian language database

Digital Historic Library

Bibliografy fan de Fryske taal- en literatuerwittenskip

Tresoar Frisian Library

E-books and Reference Works

E-books and Reference:

Bibliografy fan de Fryske taal- en literatuerwittenskip (Bibliography of Frisian Language and Literature, BFTL) contains titles of books, articles, book chapters and reviews from 1940 to date (no full text).

Digital Historic Library (Digitale historische Bibliotheek Friesland) This resource in full text contains digitised books and journals on Frisian language and history that are out of print, including older grammars.

Digital Library for Frisian Literature  (Digitale Bibliotheek voor de Nederlandse Letteren/Friese Literatuur) contains literary texts from 17th Century to date.

The series Altfriesische Rechtsquellen (a critical text edition of the main Old Frisian manuscripts) is available in full text from Deutsches Rechtswörterbuch (DRW) (search by title in 'Digitalisate')

The series Oudfriese Taal- en Rechtsbronnen ( a diplomatic edition of the main Old Frisian manuscripts) is available in full text from the Frisian Language Databases, Database 1300-1800. (register and log in, select 'tdb_Aldfrysk' from 'List teksten' and click on preferred text.)

Digital Collection of Tresoar (Treasures/Digicollectie), comprising digitised manuscripts, including the Old Frisian incunable Freeska Landriucht, Codex Roorda and archival materials.

Journals:

Sirkwy Frisian literay website contains modern literary works in full text as well as news on recent publications.

Ensafh Frysk Literêr Tydskrift Digital Literary journal

 

Dictionaries:

Grammar:

  • An Introduction to Old Frisian: history, grammar, reader, glossary, by R.H.Bremmer (2009), available in the Taylor Institution Library

Reference:

Handbook of Frisian Studies, ed. by H.H.Munske and N.Arhammer (2001), available in the Taylor Institution Library

Tresoar (in the Netherlands) offers further reference material, including biographies and bibliographies of authors, films, plays, and resources in full text. West-Frisian, East-Frisian and North Frisian are covered. The Digital Collection contains a large number of digitised manuscripts, archival materials and old printings.

The Nordfriisk Instituut offters more detailed information on the North-Frisian language. 

Subject Guide

Johanneke Sytsema's picture
Johanneke Sytsema
Contact:
Subject Consultant for Linguistics, Dutch and Frisian
Taylor Institution Library
St Giles'
Oxford
1OX 3NA
01865 (2)78159
Website / Blog Page