Skip to main content

Frisian: Articles & Working Papers

Frisian language and literature
Subjects: Frisian

Key resources

Tresoar The Frisian Library in Ljouwert (NL) The main catalogue comprises many article titles. Provides databases of Plays, Films, Biographies and Bibliographies of Frisian authors.

Bibliografy fan de Fryske taal- en literatuerwittenskip

NARCIS, national database; research articles, theses, datasets in full text (use search term: Frisian)

OxLip+ contains subscription e-resources

MLA  Bibliography Indexes journals, books, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies from 1926 to present. Includes some Frisian Studies.

Linguistics and Language Behaviour Abstracts Covers general linguistics, phonology and phonetics. Covers 1960 to present. Includes some Frisian Studies.

ZETOC The British Library's Electronic Table of Contents of around 20,000 current journals and around 16,000 conference proceedings in various areas including linguistics. Covers 1993 to present.

Searching for articles

Want to find literature on a certain subject? Don't know any titles yet? Then bibliographic databases are a good place to start.

Bibliografy fan de Fryske taal- en literatuerwittenskip is a specific Frisian bibliography, containing titles of books, articles, book reviews, book chapters from 1940 to date. 

Articles in full text may be found in NARCIS, a national research database. This database also holds dissertations, datasets and information about organisations.

 A keyword search in MLA or in Linguistics and Language Behaviour Abstracts will bring up some journal articles, book chapters, working papers, book reviews etc. on Frisian language and linguistics. The icon 'Find it at Oxford' will link you to the full text if available. If no full text is available, make a note of the journal title and volume and try and locate the journal via SOLO.

Tresoar (Frisian Library and Centre of Frisian Studies) indexes journal articles etc. specifically for Frisian studies. Search the Library Catalogue and refine by material type 'article'. Articles may be requested by InterLibrary Loan.

Search articles or book chapters in one of the bibliographic databases in the left column. It may be wise to use all of the databases if you want to be comprehensive. Google  Scholar is popular for its articles in full text, but be aware that only electronically available publications are listed, so you may miss out on older materials that are available in print only.

 

Journals

The following journals are available in Oxford:

It Beaken - journal on history and language (Bodleian Library)

Us Wurk - journal on language and linguistics (Bodleian Library)

North-western European language evolution.(NOWELE) - journal on historical linguistics (Taylor Institution Library)

Subject Guide

Johanneke Sytsema's picture
Johanneke Sytsema
Contact:
Subject Consultant for Linguistics, Dutch and Frisian
Taylor Institution Library
St Giles'
Oxford
1OX 3NA
01865 (2)78159
Website / Blog Page