Skip to main content

Anthropology: Theses & dissertations

A guide to resources for anthropologists at Oxford.

Finding Oxford Theses

You can search for Oxford M.Phil. and D.Phil. anthropology theses on SOLO. Simply search for "thesis oxford anthropology" plus any keywords if you are interested in a particular subject. 

Selected DPhil and MPhil theses are available in the Library Office of the Tylor Library.

OxLIP+ Theses resources

 include also:

Full-text access

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations

An international organization supporting electronic publishing and open access to scholarship.

The EThOS service from the British Library contains information about UK theses, with increasing availability of full-text downloads (if a library or an individual has paid for digitization).

At this time Oxford theses are not available electronically via EThOS but some can be found on  Oxford University Research Archive (ORA).

Theses & dissertations

Searchable citations of theses from around the world are available via ProQuest's Dissertations & Theses: the Humanties and Social Science Collection.
The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.

The Index to Theses details theses from Great Britain and Northern Ireland universities as far back as 1716.

The EThoS service from the British Library also contains information about UK theses and there is increasing availability of full-text downloads, which are available once a library or individual has paid for digitization.

At this time Oxford theses are not available electronically via EThos but some can be found on ORA (the Oxford Research Archive).

Abstracts and Indexes

Dissertations and Theses (Global full text plus UK and Ireland abstracts)

Proquest Dissertations and Theses: Global full text

A collection of works from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along wtih some works written prior to 1997.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses UK and Ireland

The collection offers the most comprehensive available listing of theses, with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in the United Kingdom and Ireland, since 1716.