Skip to main content

Education: guide to libraries and resources: Articles

Subjects: Education

Already know which article you want?

If you already have the reference for an article, use SOLO's 'Articles & More' search. This is useful to check a partial reference, or find an article you know exists.

If the article you want does not appear email us for further assistance.

Ovid search tips

Some databases e.g. PsycINFO are provided by Ovid. Ovid is a very sophisticated search interface, which can make it rather daunting to use.

It helps to split your search into smaller searches and then combine them afterwards - this is also useful for highlighting where the problem search terms might be. 

Note that if you search for more than one word Ovid defaults to exact phrase searching between any operators, e.g. OR, ADJ# so you do not need to use "double quotation marks".

Finding conference papers and proceedings

  • Papers First, for listings of conference papers received by the British Library. Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.

  • Proceedings First, for listings of conference proceedings including lists of the papers presented at each conference. As above, covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre

  • Education databases, such as ERIC and the British Education Index, also include some conference papers.

  • Web of Science includes conference proceedings for social sciences & humanities from 1990 to present

Google Scholar

Key databases for finding articles on your topic (education)

  • British Education Index, for the most comprehensive listing of UK material on education

  • ERIC, the world's largest education database, for US and international material on education

  • Education Abstracts, another great source of material on education

Key databases for finding articles on your topic (languages / linguistics)

Broader databases for finding literature on your topic

Databases which offer citation tracking

Searching Chinese journals for articles in English

The main sources of Chinese journals with relevant articles in English are:

China Academic Journals Full-text Database

Using the tickboxes and pluses on the left-hand side, you can select just Education & Social Sciences journals to search, or select just a particular level of education, e.g. secondary.

There is no explicit way to restrict searches to English-language articles, but using the Basic Search and unticking the 'Cross-Language Search' box does quite well. Use the plus to add more search criteria.

All results should be available to download as PDFs directly from this database.

Airiti Library

This is a collection of over 700 Taiwan journals. The advanced search does not behave well when searching in English, so it is better to use the 'more options' drop down in the simple search bar, and when you have the results, you can filter them by language using the left-hand options.

Note: Although this database also includes ebooks and theses, our subscription is just for journal articles - you may be able to find other kinds of results using SOLO or other databases, for example the Chinese Doctoral Dissertations Full-text Database, or the National Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations in Taiwan.

Hong Kong Journals Online

This is a small collection of Hong Kong journals in Chinese and English, including Education Journal and Journal of Basic EducationThere is only a very basic search, but all results should be available to download as PDFs directly from this database.

If you are looking for sources of information other than journal articles, or statistical data, it is worth looking at the Chinese Studies LibGuide, emailing a Chinese subject librarian ( or, or trying other databases from the OxLIP+ list of sources.