Skip to main content

Research Guide for Materials Science: Books and e-books

Document Supply

f Oxford doesn't have an article or book, you may be able to get it through our Interlibrary Loan Service:

Electronic Legal deposit

You may find items on SOLO with an orange dot and an 'online access is restricted' notice. The Bodleian receives a copy of every item published in the UK and the Republic of Ireland through "legal deposit" legislation  Items which are received electronically are subject to restrictions:

  • They may only be used on Bodleian Libraries' workstations (not your own computer)
  • You may not save these items or copy and paste from them
  • Only one person at a time can view each item

Many of these items are also available as regular e-journals or e-books which face far fewer restrictions.  To avoid restricted items look out for the green Online access label.

Find out more about Legal Deposit and finding alternative copies of restricted items.

Book recommendations

Your recommendations are welcome.

Books and e-books

SOLO discovery platform includes records of printed books and e-books available via Bodleian Libraries.
E-books. To access an electronic version of a book, click Online Access in the SOLO record and proceed to providers website.
E-book collections. Full-text e-book collections are also accessible via publisher platforms.Search for collection name in SOLO or click on the link in the table below.
 

e-Book collections

 

Annual Review series including past and current journals. Coverage includes 46  science subjects such biosciences, chemistry and physical chemistry, material science, physics and condensed matter physics ...

The Proquest E-books Central platform provides access to individually selected e-books acquired by Libraries. "Owned" books may be browsed online or downloaded.

EBSCOhost eBook Collection includes selection of e-books acquired by Libraries as individual titles.

Image result for ebrary

Ebrary's Academic Complete offers a collection of over 88,000 e-books from over 500 academic publishers. University members may download books for 14 day loans (loan limit of 10). 

SpringerLink provides access to collections of e-books and e-book series, such as Lecture Notes in  Physics, Mathematics, and Computer Science.

E-book collections in Astrophysics and Physics, Biomedicine and Life Sciences covers over 2500 e-book titles.

Complete collection of full-text e-books is available from Oxford University Press OSO provides comprehensive coverage of over 11,000 book titles in 20 subject areas, covering science, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and law.

O'Reilly (formerly Safari Books Online) is the premier on-demand digital library providing technology, digital media, business books, videos, and online courses. You will need to register on the website using an .ox.ac.uk email address before use.

ebooks logo

SIAM collection covers e-books in applied mathematics and computational science. Over 400 titles address fundamental topics in computational mathematics., numerical analysis, simulation and modeling, and applied science areas.

All e-books can be accessed via SOLO or directly through publisher websites.

Reference works