Skip to main content

Bodleian K B Chen China Centre Library Guide: Bodleian CCL Reserve collection

Guide to resources

Using the Bodleian CCL Reserve collection

The China Centre Library Reserve collection is situated behind the Library desk. The books in this collection have been specifically put there at the request of tutors, on whose reading lists they appear. This does not mean that all books on reading lists are in this collection. Some of these books appear on readings lists of more than one course and so are in heavy demand. Several readers can need the same book at the same time. These books have the status on SOLO 'Reserve Collection/Apply Staff' and are arranged by their shelfmark (i.e. the numbers and letters on their spine labels). Readers need to ask for them at the Library desk and they are allowed for consultation up to three hours from the moment of borrowing in the reading room only. These books can be taken out of the Library only after 4.00 p.m. and are strictly due back by the 10.00 a.m. the next day (11.00 a.m. on Saturdays if borrowed after 4.00 p.m. on Fridays). If readers wish to borrow these books over the weekend, they can only be taken out after 12 noon on Saturdays and are due back strictly by 10.00 a.m. the following Monday. The member of library staff at the desk will give the reader the due back time upon issuing the book. If these books are returned to the Library desk late, the fine rate is 50p per book per hour overdue. This reflects the high demand for these books. Readers should note that these books cannot be renewed nor can holds be placed on them. This particular collection is operated on a first come first served basis.

Bodleian CCL Reserve collection

     

Subject Guide