- Archives Directory for the History of Collecting in America (Frick Collection, New York) Access to research resources relating to American collectors, dealers, agents and advisors, and the repositories that hold these records.
- Archives of American Art (Smithsonian Institution) Primary source materials relating to the history of the arts (and architecture) in America, from 1620 to the present. Collections comprise artists’, architects’, galleries’, collectors’, and critics’ papers (including sketchbooks and photographs), as well as numerous oral histories (& transcripts).
- Artists’ Papers Register (UK & Ireland) Index to the locations of the papers of artists, designers and craftspeople held in publicly accessible collections in the United Kingdom and Ireland. (NOTE: Architects’ papers are not included in the APR.)
- Fondazione Zeri - Fototeca (University of Bologna) Access to the photographic collection (ca. 200,000 images) assembled by art historian and connoisseur Fererico Zeri. The photographs document mainly Italian art, not only located in Italy but also elsewhere.
- Getty Provenance Index Databases -- Archival Inventories (Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles) Access to inventories and other documents from city, state, and national archives: Works of art from private collections in France, Italy, The Netherlands, and Spain. Period covered: 1550 - 1840.
- Medici Archive (Florence, Italy) Access to the Medici Grand Ducal Archive through scans and transcriptions of original documents. Individuals can be searched according to role (e.g. actors, architects, artists, collectors, poets, printers, patrons).
- Montias Database of 17th-Century Dutch Art Inventories (Frick Collection , New York) Compiled by the late John Michael Montias, the database contains information from 1,280 inventories of goods (paintings, prints, sculpture, furniture, etc.) owned by the residents of 17th century Amsterdam.
- National Gallery Archives (London, UK) Online index to the records of the Gallery's activities from its foundation in 1824 to the present day.
- National Gallery of Art (Washington, DC): Art Dealers' Archives
- National Register of Archives (UK) Register of archival materials in the UK. Many art-related people (e.g. artists, dealers, collectors, etc.) are covered.
- Nazi-era Provenance Portal A searchable registry of objects in U.S. museum collections that changed hands in Continental Europe during the Nazi era (1933-1945).
Auction & sale catalogues
- Dictionary of National Biography (DNB)
Full-text extended essays not only on British people but also non-Brits. who spent time in the UK. Excellent resource for finding biographical information on artists, art historians, patrons, collectors and dealers. People still alive are excluded.
- Art Full Text (including Art Abstracts) Covers publications 1984 – present. Abstracts available from 1994. Full text coverage varies with journal title. Wide-ranging index to Western-language journal articles, book reviews and images in mainstream archaeology, architecture, conservation and "fine" and "decorative" arts periodicals. All geographical areas and all periods (ancient – contemporary).
- Country Life Archive Full text and images (1897 to 2005) of the weekly British culture and lifestyle magazine, Country Life, focusing on fine art and architecture, the great country houses, and rural living. Every page is fully searchable, and reproduced high resolution.
- Country Life Picture Library Images of country houses and gardens, interiors and architectural details, historic buildings and churches from the photo-archive of Country Life magazine. All images reference the original Country Life articles for which they were commissioned.
- Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals Index to 42 art journals published in the U.S. during the 19th century. Covers articles, art notes and advertisements about artists and illustrators, painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, architecture and design, exhibitions and sales, decoration, and also collecting. American and non-American individuals and works, dating from all periods, are covered.
- WorldCat Massive union catalogue of countless libraries worldwide. Useful for finding books and archival materials beyond Oxford.