The Sackler Library is the premier research library for the study of art and architecture at the University of Oxford. It incorporates the libraries formerly housed at the History of Art Department and the Ashmolean Museum.
Art Full Text (including Art Abstracts) Covers publications 1984 – present. Abstracts available from 1994. Full text coverage varies with journal title. Wide-ranging index to Western-language journal articles, book reviews and images in mainstream archaeology, architecture, conservation and "fine" and "decorative" arts periodicals. All geographical areas and all periods (ancient – contemporary).
ArtBibliographies Modern Covers publications 1974 – present. Abstracts also available. Index to Western-language journal articles, essays, books, exhibition catalogues and dissertations on modern art and photography. All geographical areas.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA, Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles) NOTE: Covers publications ca. 1975 – 2007 only. Index to Western-language journal articles, book reviews, monographs, dissertations, essays and exhibition catalogues on (mostly) European and N. American art and architectural history, ca. 300 C.E. - present. Conservation is also included; History of Photography is excluded.
FRANCIS Covers publications 1984 - present. Electronic version of the Bulletin Signaletique. International humanities and social sciences index to publications in western languages, including those on art and archaeology of Asia and the Islamic world. Covers publications 1984 - present.
John Carter Brown Library (Brown University) Comprises 45,000 rare books from the colonial period, and 20,000 publications from the post-colonial/modern era. A major part of the collection consists of works on the missionary campaigns in Latin America, and on the religious orders which settled there.
University of Texas at Austin UT’s library holdings of primary and secondary resources on Latin American art for the colonial period are extensive. They include the Benson Latin American Collection, and the rare books and manuscripts department specializing in Latin American materials. Among its holdings are books, archival collections and ephemera from the late 15th century to the present.
WorldCat Massive union catalogue of countless libraries worldwide. Useful for finding books and archival materials beyond Oxford.
ARTstor Union collection of image collections worldwide. Approaching 1,000,000 images covering all periods, all geographic areas and all types of art, architecture and archaeology as well as other subject areas in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Hisitory of Medicine and Science. Contributing collections include libraries, museums and archives, including the Bodleian’s Western Manuscripts and Incunabula collection. All periods, all geographic areas.
Bridgeman Education 300,000+ images of objects from museums, galleries and private collections, as well as buildings and monuments. Images cover visual culture worldwide, from pre-History to the present day. Media covered include photography, fine art, engravings, sculpture, architecture, the decorative arts, artefacts and applied arts. It addresses the interests of such disciplines as art, architecture, archaeology, anthropology, & ethnography, history, science & medicineWestern Manuscripts and Incunabula collection. All periods, all geographic areas.
Escala (University of Essex) Art from Latin America focusing on modern and contemporary art, with an emphasis on art produced since the 1960s.
Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you). You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout