Union collection of image collections worldwide. Approaching 1,000,000 images covering all periods, all geographic areas and all types of art, architecture and archaeology as well as other subject areas in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Hisitory of Medicine and Science. Contributing collections include libraries, museums and archives, including the Bodleian’s Western Manuscripts and Incunabula collection. All periods, all geographic areas.
300,000+ images of objects from museums, galleries and private collections, as well as buildings and monuments. Images cover visual culture worldwide, from pre-History to the present day. Media covered include photography, fine art, engravings, sculpture, architecture, the decorative arts, artefacts and applied arts. It addresses the interests of such disciplines as art, architecture, archaeology, anthropology, & ethnography, history, science & medicine. All periods, all geographic areas.
K.A.C. Creswell's photographs &/or negatives of medieval Islamic architectural history, prepared for his pioneering volumes Early Muslin Architecture and Muslim Architecture of Egypt.
Eastern Art Online (Ashmolean Museum)
Online access to extremely high quality images of objects in the Ashmolean Museum's Eastern Art Department collections.
Manar Al-Athar (University of Oxford)
High resolution images for teaching, research, and publication. These images of archaeological sites, with buildings and art, cover the areas of the former Roman empire which later came under Islamic rule -- e.g. Syro-Palestine/the Levant, Arabia, Egypt, North Africa and Spain. Chronological range: Alexander the Great (about 300 BCE) - present. (NB: The collection of images is small but their quality is excellent.)
Materials relating to the study of the art & archaeology of the Middle East and the Islamic world in general are collected broadly, and primarily in support of the research and teaching activities of Oxford museum curators and faculty.
Principal Asian geographic areas collected
Other Asian geographic areas collected
Other significant library collections