The Sackler Library is the premier research library for the study of art and architecture at the University of Oxford. It incorporates the libraries formerly housed at the History of Art Department and the Ashmolean Museum.
Art Full Text (including Art Abstracts) Covers publications 1984 – present. Abstracts available from 1994. Full text coverage varies with journal title. Wide-ranging index to Western-language journal articles, book reviews and images in mainstream archaeology, architecture, conservation and "fine" and "decorative" arts periodicals. All geographical areas and all periods (ancient – contemporary).
ArtBibliographies Modern Covers publications 1974 – present. Index to Western-language journal articles, essays, books, exhibition catalogues and dissertations on modern art and photography. All geographical areas.
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) Covers period 1973 - present. Subjects include industrial design, vehicle design, architecture, interior design, environmental design, computer aided design, furniture design, ceramics, glass, jewellery, metalsmithing, silversmithing, goldsmithing, fashion design, textile design, embroidery, graphic design, typography, multimedia design, illustration, book design, photography, advertising, marketing, retail design, packaging, exhibition design, theatre design, design and craft history, design and craft theory, ergonomics, design for disability, design for the elderly, design and craft education and design management.
Museum of Modern Art Library & Archive (MoMA) The collections support in-depth research on painting, sculpture, drawings, prints, photography, architecture, design, performance, video, film, and emerging art forms from 1880 to the present. Important artists' files include rarely collected ephemeral materials.
Smithsonian Institution Collections Search Center (US) Access to 2 million+ museum, archive, library and research holdings and collections across the Smithsonian's various sub-entities. Includes: Archives of American Art, Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden, National Museum of the American Indian, National Portrait Gallery, and Smithsonian American Art Museum.
Tate Library (London) Holdings of the Tate's Library & Archives include British & international art & artists (British: all periods; internationa;: 1900-present). Particularly stron in exhibition & collection catalogues, & artists' books.
WorldCat Massive union catalogue of countless libraries worldwide. Useful for finding books and archival materials beyond Oxford.
accessCeramics Images of ceramics made by contemporary artists worldwide.
Archivio Storico Istituto Luce Photographs and film footage documenting events and a changing society in C20th Italy, from L.U.C.E. (L'Unione Cinematografica Educativa, founded in 1924).
ARTstor Union collection of image collections worldwide. Approaching 1,000,000 images covering all periods, all geographic areas and all types of art, architecture and archaeology as well as other subject areas in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Hisitory of Medicine and Science. Contributing collections include libraries, museums and archives, including the Bodleian’s Western Manuscripts and Incunabula collection. All periods, all geographic areas.
Bridgeman Education 300,000+ images of objects from museums, galleries and private collections, as well as buildings and monuments. Images cover visual culture worldwide, from pre-History to the present day. Media covered include photography, fine art, engravings, sculpture, architecture, the decorative arts, artefacts and applied arts. It addresses the interests of such disciplines as art, architecture, archaeology, anthropology, & ethnography, history, science & medicine. All periods, all geographic areas.
Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC, Washington, DC) Catalogue records and digital images of still pictures held by the Library’s Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units. Includes photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United State and its inhabitants.
Life Photo Archive Images from the archive of Life magazine. Major areas covered: People, Places, Events, Sports and Culture.
NYPL’s Digital Gallery 700,000+ images digitized from New York Public Library's vast collections; includes illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, photographs, etc.
Photographic Portraits of American Artists (Smithsonian Institution, US) 4,700 photographs of artists working in the United States during the first three quarters of the twentieth century. Created by the fine art photography firm Peter A. Juley & Son (active 1896-1975). Includes portraits of individual artists as well as group photos taken at the National Academy of Design, the Art Students League and at various artists’ colonies.
VADS (Visual Arts Data Service) Union collection of UK-based image collections (although not all the objects are British). Contributing collections include libraries, museums and archives. Periods covered: Medieval – Modern.
Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you). You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout