Skip to main content

Research Guide for Physics: Research Data Management

Subjects: Patents, Physics

Data repositories

Contacts

If you have any enquiries about data management at Oxford University, you can use the following address to E-mail the data management team -

researchdata@ox.ac.uk

Alternatively, you can contact your Subject Librarian for assistance.

What is data management?

What is Research Data Management?

All research projects will generate data in one form or another. Good data management practices will help you organise, store and retrieve data for use during your project and after it is completed.  You can find out more about the principles behind data management on the Research Data Management website - http://researchdata.ox.ac.uk/home/introduction-to-rdm/

Working with data

There are a number of practical activities and considerations involved with day-to-day management of research data. You can find out more about the different aspects of working with data using the links below.

Preservation

Storing your data in suitable formats and under suitable conditions helps ensure that it can be viewed and built upon by future generations of researchers. Find out more about preserving your research data here - http://researchdata.ox.ac.uk/preserving-your-data/

Sharing data

There are various legal and ethical issues you might need to think about before sharing your research data with others. Also, it's important to get credit for your data by having it cited correctly. You can find out more information about sharing data at the links below.

Tools, services and training

There are a variety of tools and services which can support you with different aspects of managing your research data from developing your data management plan to storing you data in an on-line repository. The University also offers a variety of training to help you manage your data effectively. You can find more information here - http://researchdata.ox.ac.uk/home/tools-services-and-training/

Training

ORA-Data for Oxford research data

ORA-Data holds records about datasets created as part of research work at Oxford University. This makes is easier for people to locate information about and links to datasets. ORA-Data can also be used to deposit a dataset if there is no suitable subject, government or funder based repository available.

Repositories, e-print servers, archives...

Archives, subject repositories, e-print servers and institutional repositories are addtional sources of full-text articles and other publications.

arXiv - Print repository at University of Cornell provides access to to 970,941 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics

SAO/NASA/Astronomical Data Service (ADS)
The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 11.0 million records covering publications in Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and the arXiv e-prints

CDS - National Chemistry Database Service funded by the EPSRC and hosted by the Royal Society of Chemistry is a ‘free at the point of access’ facility for all members (students and academics) of UK academic institutions (includes the CSD -Cambridge Structural Database System)

ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 32 million structures.

CERN Articles & Preprints - collection cover published and pre-published documentns in particle physics and its related technologies. The collection contains about 400 000 documents, of which about 50% can be accessed electronically.

CORE portal  (COnecting REpositories)  includes more than 24 million articles from scientific publications aggregated from Open Access Repositories (OARs) and journals.

inSPIRE -HEP-HEP Data  High Energy Physics databases 

Europe PubMedCentral, PubMed Central, UK PMC are repositories of full text articles and publications in biomedical and life sciences.

Zenodo is a respository of research outputs from across all fields of science, stored at CERN