Skip to main content

Research Guide for Physics: Books and e-books

Subjects: Patents, Physics

Print and E-books

Use SOLO Library catalogue to search printed collections held in libraries in Oxford.
You will also be able to discover e-books and link to full-text material.
Search by book title and click on 'View Online' in SOLO record to proceed to providers website.

e-Book collections

Annual Reviews

Annual Review series including past and current journals. Coverage includes 46  science subjects such biosciences, chemistry and physical chemistry, material science, physics and condensed matter physics ...

The EBL e-books platform provides access to individually selected e-books acquired by Libraries. "Owned" books may be browsed online or downloaded.

EBSCOhost eBook Collection includes selection of e-books acquired by Libraries as individual titles.

Image result for ebrary

Ebrary's Academic Complete offers a collection of over 88,000 e-books from over 500 academic publishers. University members may download books for 14 day loans (loan limit of 10). 

SpringerLink provides access to collections of e-books and e-book series, such as Lecture Notes in  Physics, Mtathematics, and Computer Science.

E-book collections in Astrophysics and Physics, Biomedicine and Life Sciences covers over 2500 e-book titles.

Complete collection of full-text e-books is available from Oxford University Press OSO provides comprehensive coverage of over 11,000 book titles in 20 subject areas, covering science, medicine, humanities, social sciences, and law.

Safari Books Online

Safari Books Online Collection that contains a subset of 50 titles from Safari Books Online's overall content.  Selection includes e-books on programming, and relevant computer science software manuals. Safari Books Online is the premier on-demand digital library providing technology, digital media, and business books and videos online to academic and library.

ebooks logo

SIAM collection covers e-books in applied mathematics and computational science. Over 400 titles address fundamental topics in computational mathematics., numerical analysis, simulation and modeling, and applied science areas.

All e-books can be accessed via SOLO or directly through publisher websites.

Book recommendations

Your recommendations are welcome.

Handbooks and tables

Free e-books