Skip to main content

Criminology: Legal Databases

Subjects: Criminology, Law

Westlaw UK

Westlaw UK

Westlaw is produced by Thomson Reuters and is one of major UK Legal databases. It is a subscription database and available to OU members via Oxlip+.  Contents include:

Law Reports and Cases

  • The Law Reports series  - 1865 onwards
  • Weekly Law Reports
  • A large number of subject specialist reports
  • The English Reports (reprint of the nominate reports)
  • Unreported transcripts
  • Case Analysis documents including case summaries and citator information

Legislation

  • Fully consolidated full text of acts since 1267 (currently in force)
  • Statutory Instruments since 1948 (currently in force)
  • Selected historical versions of acts

Journals

  • The Legal Journals Index which has abstracts of every UK published legal article from 1986
  • A large number of full text journals including the Criminal Law Review, Public Law, Cambridge Law Journal and Oxford Journal of Legal Studies

 Books

  • The Common Law Series including Chitty on Contract and Clerk and Lindsell on Tort 
  • Dicey and Morris on Conflict of Laws
  • White Book (Civil Procedure)
  • Archbold on Criminal Procedure

Guides and tutorials

Westlaw have a number of online tutorials to help at http://www.westlaw.co.uk/trainingtutorial/as well as online guides embedded in the help menu on the website.

The Bodleian Law Library also has a basic Westlaw tutorial.

Selected Law Databases A-Z

This is brief list of legal databases and sources related to criminology and criminal law. For a more thorough guide please see the Law LibGuides.

Casetrack judgements from the Courts of Appeal (Criminal and Civil Divisions) 

Criminal Appeal Reports and Criminal Appeals Reports (Sentencing)

Current Legal Information. UK case law and current awareness.

HeinOnline

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals Index to articles on non Anglo-American law.

International Criminal Law Database & Commentary 

Justcite UK and EU case law.

Justis UK UK law reports and judgments from the European Court of Justice (ECJ) and European Court of Human Rights (ECHR). 

Kluwer Law International Journals

Lawtel Frequently updated UK case law and legislation.

Lexis Library. Primary and secondary legal materials from the UK, EU, USA and many other jurisdictions.

Making of Modern Law (MOML) Anglo-American legal treatises published 1800-1926

Oxford Reports on International Law

Westlaw UK, large database of UK, US and international legal materials.

Justis UK

Justis includes the full text of a number of UK law reports (including The Law Reports, Weekly Law Reports and English Reports amongst others); the text of UK Statutes and Statutory Instruments as enacted; EU legislation; and judgments from the European Court of Justice (ECJ) and European Court of Human Rights (ECHR).

HeinOnline

HeinOnlineHeinOnline is a legal database which froma UK Law perspective is useful for its lawjournal collection.
Under the terms of its licence the material it can include is restricted which means that the more recent articles may not be available (and it differs from title to title).  If you are looking for an article it would be best to search Oxford Ejournals first and see if the article is included within HeinOnline first.It also has a large collection of US material and UN material.

Selected Journals

  • Cambridge Law Journal (1921-2005)
  • Denning Law Journal (1986-2009)
  • International Business Law Journal (1985-2007)
  • Judicial Review (1996-2007)
  • Legal Ethics (1998-2007)

There is also a collection of some of the student law reviews.

Lexis Library

Lexis Library

Lexis Library is produced by Lexis Nexis (formally Butterworths) and is one of the major UK legal databases.  It is a subscription database which is available to OU members via Oxlip+.  Contents include:

Law Reports and Cases

  • The Law Reports series - from 1865
  • The All England Reports (main series as well as specialist series)
  • A number of specialist law reports series
  • The English Reports
  • CaseSearch (case citator)
  • Unreported transcripts

Legislation

  • Fully consolidated texts of act (currently in force) 
  • A historical version service
  • Statutory Instruments currently in force

Journals

  • An index of legal journals abstracts
  • A number of full text journals including the New Law Journal (selected articles only), Law Society Gazette, Oxford Journal of Legal Studies and Family Law

Commentary

  • Halsbury's Laws of England
  • A large number of Lexis Nexis Butterworth publications such as ..

Guides and tutorials

Lexis have a number of online tutorials to provide guidance on the use of Lexis Library and they also have a number of training videos on their Law Campus website.