Skip to main content

Criminology: Journal Articles

Subjects: Criminology, Law

Legal Periodicals

If you are focused on legal issues then a specialist legal database could be the best resource:

Westlaw UK

Large database of UK, US and international legal materials including cases, legislation and journal articles.
Log in using your SSO.

Westlaw AU

Australian Legal Data base containing law reports, journals, legislation, case digests and citators, encyclopaedias and commentary including the Laws of Australia.

Lexis Library

Primary and secondary legal materials from the UK, EU, USA and many other jurisdictions.

HeinOnline

Journals, U.S. legal materials, and classic legal texts.

Working Papers

bepress Legal Repository

Offers working papers and pre-prints from scholars and professionals at top law schools around the world.

SSRN Social Science Research Network (SSRN)

Contains legal working papers archive.

Indexes: Legal

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP)

A subject index to selected international and comparative law periodicals and collections of essays.

Index to Legal Periodicals & Books

Provides complete coverage of the most important English language legal information, with international coverage of scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews and more.

Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective: 1908-1981

A retrospective database that indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand. Coverage also includes: annual surveys of laws by jurisdiction; annual surveys of federal court cases; yearbooks and annual institutes.

ProQuest Abstracts & Indexes

For structured literature searching you might try a database with a relevant subject focus:

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database

Covers literature related to research, policy and practice in criminal and juvenile justice and drug control:  U.S. and international publications, including federal, state and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations and unpublished research from 1975.

Social Services Abstracts

Provide bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews from 1979.

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)

Designed to serve the information needs of the caring professions, including practitioners, researchers, and students in healthcare, social services, education, and related areas. It is focused on a core of around 500 of the most relevant English language scholarly journals covering aspects of health and social care from a broadly social scientific perspective. (1987-current)

Sociological Abstracts

Cover the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides abstracting and indexing of articles and book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications, plus books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers. (1952-current)

Google

You can search for journal articles in Google scholar, and use the Find it @Oxford link to access electronic versions. It also has 'cited by' links but these are not yet fully reliable.
Note however, that Scholar gives you quick, relevant results but lacks advanced search tools and sometimes gives too many results. Also some legal materials are not available via Scholar.
Google Scholar
To find articles and books cited within books try searching Google books with the reference in quotation marks.
Google Books

Full-text journals

JSTOR

Contains the full-text of many of the classic sociology journals, some as far back as the 1930s.

Directory of Open Access Journals DOAJ (Directory of Open access journals)

Community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Citation searching

For citation searching, i.e. finding out what articles have cited an article or book after publication go to -

SCOPUS

Citation searching for articles published after 1996

Social Science Citation Index

Provides bibliographic references to significant items from over 1400 journals in the behavioural and social sciences.

Journal Citation Reports

A comprehensive resource for journal evaluation, using citation data drawn from over 8400 scholarly and technical journals worldwide.

TOCs & Alerts

ZETOC

Provides access to the British Library's Electronic Table of Contents of current journals and conference proceedings from 1993 to date, and is updated on a daily basis.
You can Search for citations of journal articles and conference proceedings; set up, modify and delete email Alert; or set up RSS feeds for journals.

The Journal TOCs service

Makes it easy to keep up-to-date with newly published scholarly material by enabling them to find, display, store, combine and reuse thousands of journal tables of contents from multiple publishers.

You can also set up alerts and RSS feeds on SCOPUS, as well as WPSA (Worldwide Political Science Abstracts) and IBSS (International Bibliography of the Social Sciences).