Skip to main content

Social Policy and Intervention: E-Books & Reference

Collections

All e-books can be accessed via SOLO or directly through publisher collections:

Publications on political sociology and social issues and reference works on Children and Families, Communities and Organizations, Health & Mental Health, Public Health & Epidemiology, Religion, Research and Evaluation, Social Policy, Social Work, and Sociology.

Sociology

Oxford Handbooks contain essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.

OXFORD MEDICINE ONLINE

ScienceDirect

Currently in addition to the subsriptions over 250,000 articles on ScienceDirect are open access, i.e.peer-reviewed and made free for everyone to read and download. Permitted reuse is defined by the authors’ choice of user license.

View the open access journal directory and publications with open access articles.

ProQuest
Ebook Central

Delivers ebooks from scholarly sources, including universities' and other top publishers.

iLibrary

Comprehensive access to OECD statistical data, books, journals and working papers.

EBSCOhost eBook Collection

Image result for taylor and francis logo T&F eBooks Library:

NICE evidence search

Created by NICE (National institute for health and care excellence) evidence search provides access to selected and authoritative evidence in health, social care and public health.

SAGE

SAGE

 

CASES

Search and browse the collection of case studies of real social research, specially commissioned and designed to help you understand abstract methodological concepts in practice.

Methodspace

You can join the online network for the community of researchers engaged in research methods. Its users have free access to selected journal articles, book chapters, etc which highlight emerging topics in the field.

Loading

Online Reference

The Blackwell companion to sociology

Covers traditional topics in sociology, such as theory, stratification, political sociology, and the sociology of education and social movements, as well as emerging areas such as immigration studies, the sociology of space and time, and the sociology of intimate relations and religion.

Blackwell Reference Online

Sociology

@

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences

An attempt to map all the fields encompassed within the social and behavioral sciences.
A Dictionary of Sociology

Oxford Dictionary of Sociology

Covers terminology, concepts, and thinkers in the field of sociology, as well as from the related fields of psychology, economics, anthropology, philosophy, and political science.

Reference Online

 Internet for Social Policy Free online tutorial to help university students develop their Internet research skills.