Skip to main content

International Development: Theses & Dissertations

This is just a selection of sources - go to the Bodleian Libraries' Theses webpage to find detailed information on:

Oxford Theses  ♦  Theses from other UK universities  ♦  Theses from universities in the United States  ♦  Theses from universities elsewhere in the world  ♦  Thesis finding aids

Subscription databases

China Doctoral Dissertations Full-text Database (CDFD)

Gives access to full-text doctoral dissertations from a selection of major universities in China published between 1999 and 2016. The library has access to social sciences, economics and management sections of the database. The dissertations can be downloaded in PDF and CAJ format, together with the viewer for .caj files.

Proquest Dissertations and Theses: Global

A collection of works from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along wtih some works written prior to 1997.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: UK and Ireland

The collection offers the most comprehensive available listing of theses, with abstracts accepted for higher degrees by universities in the United Kingdom and Ireland, since 1716.

Open Access Resources

EBSCO Open Dissertations

Provides a single search interface to locate open-access theses and dissertations from hundreds of universities, mostly in the UK and US. The full-text of theses may be downloaded by following the link to the institutional repository where the thesis is held.

DART-Europe E-theses Portal

A partnership of research libraries and library consortia working together to improve global access to European research theses.

Dissertations of China

The interface allows you to search for and view basic bibliographic details for theses and abstracts. Full text is available for the vast majority of entries but not all theses. Where full text is unavailable, you are advised to consult your subject librarian.

EThoS: e-theses online service

A service from the British Library aims to provide a national aggregated record of all doctoral theses awarded by UK Higher Education institutions, and free access to the full text of as many theses as possible for use by researchers.
To facilitate access to the material EThOS provides a digitisation on demand service.

National Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations in Taiwan

You can search for and view basic bibliographic details for theses and abstracts. A personal registration is necessary to be able to download full text theses from this website. Where full text is unavailable, you are advised to consult your subject librarian.

National Library of Australia

A free repository of Australian material, including almost a million Australian theses.
See help on finding Australian theses.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations

An international organization promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs); supporting electronic publishing and open access to scholarship in order to enhance the sharing of knowledge worldwide.

OATD: Open Access Theses and Dissertations

A resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 3,429,635 theses and dissertations.
Also contains an index of over 2.4 million electronic theses and dissertations; to the extent possible, the index is limited to records of graduate-level theses that are freely available online.

Shamaa (Arab Educational Information Network)

The contents of the database include mainly the theses & dissertations and articles in Arabic educational journals published in Arab countries since 2007. The bib records include abstracts and the full text for some electronic Arabic journals and some electronic theses.

Shodhganga

Shodhganga is a full-text open access digital repository of Indian theses and dissertations.

Theses Canada Portal

A collaborative program aiming to acquire and preserve theses and dissertations from participating universities, provide free access to Canadian electronic theses and dissertations in the collection, and facilitate access to non-digital theses and dissertations in the collection.

Tesis Doctorals en Xarxa (TDX)

A digital cooperative repository of doctoral theses presented at some Spanish universities since 2007. The consultation of theses is opened and allows the user to construct searches on the complete text of the files by author, advisor, title, keywords, university and department of publication, year of submission, etc.

Universities' Repositories

Oxford Research Archive

Contains a growing collection of digital copies of successful Oxford theses submitted as part of research degree awards. The full content of as many theses as possible are made freely available to be accessed via the Internet.

Oxford eTheses

Information on copyright, how to deposit your thesis in ORA and other important matters.

White Rose eTheses Online

An online repository of doctoral theses from the Universities of Leeds, Sheffield and York. It is part of a national - and international - network of open access online databases promoting access to research outputs so that they can be found, read, cited and built upon.

Searching for Theses

You can search for Oxford MPhil and DPhil theses in your subject area on SOLO.

Simply search for "thesis [your subject] oxford" to find MPhil theses or "dphil [your subject] oxford" plus any keywords if you are interested in DPhil theses from the Department.

Selected MPhil theses are available in the Social Science Library.

DPhil theses can be requested (ASR via SOLO) from the Bodleian Bookstack to the Weston Library for consultation.

You can also search or browse various catalogues:

COPAC

Union catalogue gives free access to the merged online catalogues of members of the Consortium of Research Libraries.​

OAIster

Union catalog of digital resources.