Skip to main content

International Development: Data & Statistics

General sources

UK Data Service

A unified point of access to data from ESDS, Census Programme, Secure Data Service, and others.

ICPSRInter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research

The largest data archive in the world offering more than 500,000 digital files containing social science research data for US and international micro data.

Statistical OECD databases and series plus full-text books, periodicals and reports.

EMIS - macro data and financial data from emerging market economies as well as news, business and financial sources.

The Global Health Observatory (GHO) database

The WHO's main health statistics repository. You can find a range of health topics like mortality, the burden of disease, infectious diseases, risk factors and health expenditures.

Access Worldbank data directly via the Databank, or browse the data catalog.

Country Profiles and Reports

ELDIS

Service from the Institute of Development Studies, Sussex offering country profiles, resource guides, newsletters and newsfeeds.

developmentdata.org

Data on inequality, trade, aid, education, agriculture, migration, health, FDI, population, governance, private sector and debt, and to websites that host and/or catalogue household survey data.

columbia international affairs online

A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward: working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. Interactive maps provide access to country reports provided by the Economist Intelligence Unit.

EIU

Produced by the Economist Intelligence Unit provides management analysis in six categories: Global business, Strategy and competition, Sales and marketing, Finance and performance, Technology and operations and Leadership. The Industry Briefings and Analysis component focuses on six industry sectors: Automotive, Consumer Goods, Energy, Financial Services, Healthcare and Telecoms and Technology.

Business Source Complete

Includes country reports from various publishers.

UN data

United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN Comtrade)

Contains detailed import and export flow data for over 200 countries listed by commodity and partner country.

UNCTADStat (Commodity Price Statistics)

Commodity Price Statistics from the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development provide monthly free-market prices and price indices starting in January 1960 for selected commodities that concern commodity-dependant countries.

UN Data

Internet-based data service which brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point.

Financial data

Global Financial Data

Contains a wealth of series for individual countries including historical financial data.

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)

Provides access to a number of datasets for financial research and analysis: CISDM, Compustat NA, CRSP, CUISP, GovPX, I/B/E/S, NYSE TAQ, & Thomson Reuters.
Only academic staff and postgraduates may register for WRDS access by clicking on the link on the sign-in webpage.

Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database)

Provides business intelligence on industries, countries and consumers; includes statistics, full market reports and comment on emerging industry, country and consumer trends.

Cross-national time-series

Databanks International:
Cross-National Time-Series (CNTS) Data Archive

This longitudinal national dataseries provides ranges of annual data from 1815 to the present for over 200 countries with 196 variables with comprehensive listing of international and national country data facts. General categories include demographic, social, political, and economic topics.
For more information about the dataset go to the publisher's site.

Landscan

Landscan Global Population Database

A population database that maps geographical distribution of a populace within cells of one-kilometre resolution over a 24 hour period. This allows assessment, estimation and visualisation of populations reacting to disease outbreaks, social upheaval or natural disasters. The modelling process uses sub-national level census counts and other data for each country combined with high resolution imagery analysis.

Political data

PRS Researcher's Dataset: ICRG T3B - Political Risk
(CD-ROM)

Armed Conflict Database

Monitors armed conflicts worldwide, focusing on political, military and humanitarian trends in current conflicts, whether they are local rebellions, long-term insurgencies, civil wars or inter-state conflicts.

INDIASTAT.com

The largest resource for Indian statistical data on finance, crime and law, population, health, higher education, agricultural production information, economic statistics and tourism related data et al.