Skip to main content

Politics and International Relations: Public Opinion: Polls & Surveys

This is just a small selection of the resources available at the University of Oxford.
The Bodleian Data Library Socio-Political Behaviour and Attitudes section and Data and Statistics for Social Sciences libguide provide further suggestions.

Polls and Surveys

British Polling Council (BPC)

An association of polling organisations that publish polls to assist journalists, and through them, the general public and politicians, in the understanding, interpreting and reporting of polls.

European Commission: PUBLIC OPINION

Surveys and studies address major topics concerning European citizenship: enlargement, social situation, health, culture, information technology, environment, the Euro, defence, etc.

Gallup Analytics

A searchable resource of unique public opinion data and analysis. Analysis of new data and historical trends at country, state and city levels is available via the Gallup World Poll, Gallup Daily Tracking and Gallup Brain databases.

Global Indicators Database

Pew Research Center conducts public opinion surveys around the world on a broad array of subjects ranging from people's assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day. The database contains data from 64 countries.

International Social Survey Programme (ISSP)

A cross-national collaboration programme conducting annual surveys on diverse topics relevant to social sciences.

iPOLL

A comprehensive, up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion published by the ROPER center. A full-text retrieval system, the online database is organized at the question-level, providing the tools to sift through nearly half a million questions asked on national public opinion surveys since 1935.

Ipsos MORI

Looks at public attitudes to key public services, and so informing social policy on issues such as identity, social cohesion, physical capital and the impact of place on attitudes.
English translations of opinion polls - data from major media organizations and other agencies in Japan, Korea and China.

NCPP

An association of polling organizations setting professional standards for public opinion pollsters, and disseminating information on how to conduct polls and interpret poll results.

Polling the Nations

A compilation of full-text questions and responses from over 14,000 national, state, and local surveys conducted since 1986 by more than 1,400 polling organisations in 100 countries. It is described by Choice as “a resource beyond compare in the polling field”.

PollingReport.com

An independent, nonpartisan resource on trends in American public opinion.

Russian Public Opinion Research Center

Conducts research - from instrument design and data collection to analysis and presentation of results in the fields politics, business and social affairs.

WorldPublicOpinion.org

An international collaborative project by a consortium of research centers studying public opinion on international issues in their respective countries with the aim to present public opinion around the world on international issues.

What do people think about politics?

Audit of Political Engagement from the Hansard Society
An annual survey of public attitudes towards politics in Great Britain, conducted by Ipsos MORI..
A House of Commons library briefing summarises recent research on the topic.

UK Data Service [UKDS]

UK Data Service

The large-scale UK, cross-national, and cohort and longitudinal surveys are key data resources for understanding population structure and change.

Global and regional barometers

AfrobarometerAfroBarometer

An African-led series of national public attitude surveys on democracy and governance in Africa.

AmericasBarometer

A periodic study of 34 Latin American countries, with stratified nationally representative samples drawn in each country, a common questionnaire core, and country-specific modules.

Arab Barometer

Arab Barometer surveys are conducted in 12 countries in the Middle East region. The first round of surveys began in 2006/07 and the latest (Wave 3) from 2012-2014.

Asian Barometer

Asian Barometer surveys cover 13 countries and territories in East and Southeast Asia and 5 countries in South Asia. The first wave of surveys was conducted in 2001 in East Asia and in 2005 in South Asia. The latest wave (Wave 3) was completed in 2010.

Eurasia Barometer

This new survey project plans to conduct the module of Global Barometer Surveys in several Central Asian countries.

Global Barometer Surveys (GBS)

The first comprehensive effort to measure, at a mass level, the current social, political, and economic atmosphere around the world. It provides an independent, non-partisan, multidisciplinary view of public opinion on a range of policy-relevant issues.

Latinobarómetro

An annual public opinion survey that involves some 20,000 interviews in 18 Latin American countries, representing more than 600 million inhabitants. The first surveys were conducted in 1995 and the latest in 2014.

UKpollingreport

Loading ...