Skip to main content

Politics and International Relations: Historical Newspapers

This is just a small selection of resources available at the University of Oxford.
The Newspapers and other online news sources libguide provides further resources and searching tips.

Gale Newspaper Archives

NewsVault

Gale NewsVault

Cross-searching of your library's collection of Gale historical newspapers.

19th Century British Library Newspapers

British Library Newspapers Parts I-IV 1732-1950

Full runs of national and regional newspapers.

19th Century UK Periodicals

19th Century UK Periodicals

Covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century.

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection

17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers

Largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media.

The Times Digital Archive

The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2012

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers

19th Century U.S. Newspapers

The Economist Historical Archive

The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2014

The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003

The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003

 

Type in a keyword in the space above to search THE TIMES Digital Archive, an online, full-text facsimile of newspaper.
 
DM Historical Archive

The Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2004

The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000

The archive offers an insight into domestic & international affairs and culture over a timespan of almost 150 years.

PRAVDA Archive

Pravda was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991. Today, Pravda still remains the official organ of the Communist Party of the Russian Federation.

Periodicals Archive Online

Digitised full-text journal articles from hundreds of titles, 1802-2000. Many of these journals are non-English. Oxford subscribes to Collections 1-5 and 7, which includes The Spectator 1828-2000.

Periodicals Index Online

An electronic index of millions of citations for articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years. Journals indexed span 37 key subject areas and multiple languages.