Skip to main content

Politics and International Relations: Data & Statistics

This is just a small selection of the datasets available at the University of Oxford.

The Data and Statistics for Social Sciences LibGuide provides further information and tips.
The Bodleian Data Library website provides a wide range of services for all researchers and students at the University who need to find and use statistics and data.

UK sources of international data

UK Data Service (UKDS)

Provides a unified access to major UK government-sponsored surveys, cross-national surveys, longitudinal studies, UK census data, international aggregate, business data, and qualitative data.

UKDS.Stat

The UK Data Service platform for international macrodata hosts hundreds of economic and social datasets provided by the World Bank, OECD, International Monetary Fund, United Nations, and International Energy Agency, and Human Rights Atlas.
You can find comprehensive platform and data guides on accessing, exploring and visualising data in UKDS.Stat.

UK Data ArchiveUK Data Archive

Curates digital data in the social sciences and humanities in the UK, provides a range of services supporting creators and users of data.

Create & Manage Data ♦  Deposit Data ♦  Find Data

Further sources of international data

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)

A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs.

Databanks International: Cross-National Time-Series (CNTS) Data Archive

Ranges of annual data from 1815 to the present for over 200 countries with 196 variables with comprehensive listings of international and national country data facts. General categories include demographic, social, political, and economic topics.

Forced Migration Online

Access to a wide variety of online resources dealing with the situation of forced migrants worldwide.

Global data at ICPSR

Located among the international data holdings of ICPSR are foundational studies for the fields of international relations and comparative politics.

International Historical Statistics 1750-2010

Covers a wide range of socio-economic topics. It is a collection of data sets taken from hundreds of primary sources, including official national and international abstracts.

OECD iLibrary

The online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development, featuring its books, papers and statistics.

UN Data

A single entry point for UN statistical databases allowing users to search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.

World Bank Open data

Free and open access to global development data. The DataBank offers an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics.

Economic and Financial Data

Emerging Market Information Service (EMIS)

Provides macro- and financial data from emerging market economies as well as news, business and financial sources.

Global Financial Data

A collection containing a wealth of series for individual countries including historical financial data.

Political Risk Datasets

International Terrorism: Attributes of Terrorist Events (ITERATE)

Armed Conflict Database

Monitors armed conflicts worldwide, focusing on political, military and humanitarian trends in current conflicts, whether they are local rebellions, long-term insurgencies, civil wars or inter-state conflicts.

The research and analysis division of The Economist Group acquiring and checking economic and market data, including the use of primary research techniques and fieldwork when necessary. It provides country, risk, and industry analyses. The division has also introduced a data tool that allows greater accessibility to the data on the site and more flexibility in terms of selection of countries, series and years you want to view and download.

Political Risk Services (PRS)

Gallup Analytics

A searchable resource of unique public opinion data and analysis compiled by Gallup, Inc.

Landscan Global Population Database

Maps geographical distribution of a populace within cells of one-kilometre resolution over a 24 hour period. This allows assessment, estimation and visualisation of populations reacting to disease outbreaks, social upheaval or natural disasters. The modelling process uses sub-national level census counts and other data for each country combined with high resolution imagery analysis.