Skip to main content

Politics and International Relations: News & Analysis

This is just a small selection of the resources available at the University of Oxford.

The Newspapers and Other Online News Sources LibGuide provides further resources and searching tips. 

Online news sources

BBC Monitoring Reports

Full text from 1979-present available via Nexis Advance UK. Provides access to broadcasts from 120 countries, including coutnries for which other news sources are not readily available.

Columbia International Affairs Online

A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs, with interactive maps providing access to country reports obtained from the Economist Intelligence Unit.

Emerging Markets Information Service

EMISContains news sources in English and native languages from emerging market countries along with macroeconomic, financial, industry and company analysis data and reports.

Factiva

Largely for contemporary newspapers (1980s-). Provides essential news for North America and Europe. Good for national, local and regional newspapers, and specialist or professional news.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports 1976-96

Selected broadcasts, newspaper articles and government statements from around the world, translated into English and issued by an agency of the US government.

NexisUK

(aka LexisNexis)

Largely for contemporary newspapers (1980s-). Provides access to over 20,000 news sources from all over the world. Particularly good for UK, North America, Australia and much of Europe.

NK News

An independent, privately-owned specialist information source that focuses on North Korea. The site intends to provide authoritative news, opinion & analysis, research tools, data and subject specialists.

NK Pro

An independent news, information and data platform that concentrates uniquely on North Korea, featuring daily news, high level analysis, opinions and interviews from a range of scholars, diplomats, experts and North Korean defectors. 

World News Connection Archive 1995-2013

Newspaper articles, broadcast transcripts and datelines from around the world, translated into English by the US government.

World Press Trends Database

A primary source of data on the newspaper industry worldwide. It includes data from more than 70 countries, available as individual country reports, and aggregated to reveal trends on circulation and readership.

Current subscriptions & periodicals databases

Loading ...
Loading ...
Loading ...

Analytical

Oxford AnalyticaA global analysis and advisory firm which draws on a macro expert network to advise its clients on strategy and performance in complex markets. Research and teaching archive from Oxford Analytica's work currently covers 15 years political and economic analysis.