Skip to main content

Politics and International Relations: Digital Archives

This is just a small selection of archives available at the University of Oxford.
To see more go to Databases A-Z: archives. The Official Papers LibGuide provides a comprehensive overview of parliamentary and other official papers.

National Archives

One of the largest archival collections in the world, spanning 1000 years of British history, from Domesday Book of 1086 to government papers recently released to the public.

Archives Hub

Use this to help you find unique sources, physical and digital. Search across descriptions of archives held at over 350 institutions across the UK.

Official Publications

Public Information Online (PIO)

An online archive of UK parliamentary and official documents. Collections include: House of Commons papers from 2005 and House of Lords papers from 1901 to the present day. The archive also has a growing collection of government publications to include the British Imperial Calendar/Civil Service Yearbook from 1963 onwards. Standing Committee debates are available from 1919 onwards.

PIO also contains parliamentary and non-parliamentary publications from the UK’s devolved assemblies and parliaments: the Scottish Parliament, Northern Ireland Assembly and the National Assembly of Wales.

Modern Political Papers

Go to the Special Collections & Western Manuscripts guide "Finding Aids - Early Modern & Modern Manuscripts at the Bodleian Library" to find out how to access Bodleian Libraries' Special Collections resources, including Modern political papers.

Document archives

The Cold War: Global Perspectives on East-West Tensions, 1945-1991

A digital archive of international primary source documents on the Cold War, spanning five decades, of interest to those researching 20th Century global studies.

Documents on British Policy Overseas

An online collection of primary source documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO).

Digital National Security Archive

Declassified government documents covering U.S. policy towards critical world events, 1945 to the present.

Ethnic NewsWatch

Full-text newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press, 1959-present.

League of Nations Archive (LONTAD), 1920-46

Free online access to the archive of the first global intergovernmental organisation aiming to establish international peace and the processor of the United Nations. 

Political Extremism & Radicalism in the Twentieth Century

Combines content on far-right and fascist movements, alongside coverage of radical left groups, allowing researchers to access material from both sides, and providing points for comparison.

PORTCULLIS: Gateway to the Archives of Parliament

An electronic catalogue containing descriptions of around 3 million records helps you to find the reference number of the records you require quickly so that you can order records onsite in our Westminster searchroom or request copies if you are unable to visit us. Portcullis contains descriptions of all Parliament's catalogued collections, including details of closed records which can be requested under Freedom of Information.

ProQuest Congressional

Provides access to the full archive of the Congressional Record and its predecessors (Annals of Congress, Register of Debates, Congressional Globe) from 1789-1999, providing full text coverage of the official record of the proceedings, debates, and activities of Congress, as well as published Congressional Hearings from 1824-1979.

U.S. Declassified Documents Online

Access a range of previously classified federal records from the 20th and 21st Centuries.

Archive of Printed Ephemera

John Johnson Collection Thousands of items offer insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries. Categories include 19th-Century entertainment, book trade, popular prints, crimes, murders & executions, and advertising.

Gender Studies

Companion to American Technology

Original essays exploring important features of American technology and analysing how technologies interact with race, gender, class, and other comparable categories in American society.

Defining Gender, 1450-1910

Provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.

Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures

Reference work reflecting the very latest research on gender studies and the Islamic world.

International Women's Periodicals, 1786-1933: Social and Political Issues (Archives Unbound)

Provides online access to women’s magazine and journal publications covering the late 18th century to the 1930s. The material allows researchers to explore the role of women in society and the development of the public lives of women as the push for women's rights (woman suffrage, fair pay, better working conditions, etc.) grew in the United States and England. It is also useful for the study of the history of women’s publishing: the strongest suffrage and anti-suffrage writing was done by women for women's periodicals.

Women in The National ArchivesWomen in the National Archives

An online finding aid for women's studies resources in the National Archives, Kew, 1559-1995. It also provides early 20th Century original documents on the Suffrage Question in Britain, the Empire and Colonial Territories.

Women: Transnational Networks (Nineteenth Century Collections Online)

Includes a wide array of primary source documents and focuses on issues at the intersection of gender and class from the late-eighteenth century to the era of suffrage in the early-twentieth century, all through a transnational perspective.

Women, War and Society, 1914–1918 (Archives Unbound)

This resource fully documents the essential contribution of women during the Great War as well as the revolutionary and permanent impact the World War I had on the personal, social and professional lives of these women. It is an important collection for research into 20th century social, political, military and gender history.
The primary sources are brought together from the Imperial War Museum, London, and were originally published by the Air Ministry, League of Mercy and War Fund, Purple Cross Service, Russian Relief Fund and many other organisations. This definitive digital collection of First World War charity and international relief reports, pamphlets, photographs, press cuttings and more is fully searchable.

Archives Portal Europe

Archives Portal Europe

Provides access to information on archival material from different European countries as well as information on archival institutions throughout Europe. The project's consortium currently consists of 28 national, regional and specialist archives (business, church, etc.). The resource also has a directory of archives in Europe, accompanied by a browsable map of locations.

Other online archives

Mass Observation Online

Includes the entire File Report sequence 1937-1972, access to all of the Day Surveys, Directives and Diaries, 1937-1942, early Mass Observation Publications and selected Topic Collection.

UK Web Archive (UKWA)

Thousands of UK websites have been collected here since 2004 and the Archive is growing fast. Here you can see how websites have changed over time and locate information no longer available on the live Web.

World News Connection Archive, 1995-2013

Newspaper articles, broadcast transcripts and datelines from around the world, translated into English by the US government.