Skip to main content

Politics and International Relations: E-Books & Reference

eBook collections

The ebooks we have purchased are available via SOLO, which is the best place to look for individual titles. Here are some highlights:

Oxford University Press offers -

Oxford Handbooks

The Political Science collection contains essays with extensive referencing to further reading, offering both introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.

Oxford Research Encyclopedias

OREs offer long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. They cover both foundational and cutting-edge topics in major areas of research, including International Studies and Politics.

Oxford Scholarship Online

Political Science collection includes ebooks on Political Theory, Political Economy, International Relations, European Union, Comparative and Environmental Politics, British, American and Russian Politics, Democratisation, as well as Reference work.

Elsevier provides a platform of peer-reviewed scholarly literature -

ScienceDirect

In addition to currrent subscriptions ScienceDirect offers over 250,000 articles on open access, i.e.peer-reviewed and made free for everyone to read and download. Permitted reuse is defined by the authors’ choice of user license.
View the open access journal directory and publications with open access articles.

Taylor & Francis Group has a content platform -

Taylor & Francis eBooks

A librarian-selected package includes ebooks in Politics & International Relations.
Log-in using your Single single-on and when browsing the site, filter contents to “Full access content only”.
Some titles are available free via open access .

More ebook collections:

East View E-Books

Free access to 167 Russian e-books (fiction and non-fiction) covering humanities and social sciences.

EBSCOhost eBook Collection

Over 2,000 titles have been purchased by Bodleian Libraries and are available in full text. Each title is listed on SOLO. If you have a current SSO login you can download up to 5 complete EBSCO ebooks for 24 hours, where this option is available. 

OECD iLibrary

Provides comprehensive access to OECD statistical data, books, journals and working papers.

ProQuest Ebook Central aka EBL (eBook library) and ebrary

Thousands of titles have been purchased by Bodleian Libraries and are available in full text. Each title is listed on SOLO. If you have a current SSO login you can download one of these titles for 1 or 14 days, depending on what's been agreed with the publisher.

 

eReference

The Annual Register: A Record of World Events

A year-by-year record of British and world events, published annually since 1758. This classic reference work provides historians and students with information on the major and minor events of the past 250+ years, with historical context and perspective and a mass of biographical information.

Europa World Plus

Comprises the Europa World Year Book and nine Europa Regional Surveys of the World.

SAGE Reference Online

Wiley Online Library

Open Access eCollections

OAPEN.orgonline library and publication platform

The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences, a quality controlled collection of open access books.

Directory of Open Access Booksdirectory of open access books

A list of academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access from a variety of publishers, linking to the full text.

Virtual Library

The WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources

A frequently updated Internet directory of over 2000 annotated links to English-language sources of information and analysis in a wide range of international affairs, international relations, international studies, global studies, and global education topics. These sites are selected for their long-term value, favouring those with cost-free, authoritative information and analysis online.

UNION OF INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATIONS
Union des Associations Internationales

Resource contains detailed information on global civil society bodies and networks (organisation contact details, origins, relations, members, bibliography, biographies, events, statistics, etc.).