Skip to main content

Politics and International Relations: Journal Articles & Working Papers

This is just a small selection of the resources available at the University of Oxford.

Check SOLO and the Databases A-Z list for further resources.

Full text resources

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)

Includes working papers from university research institutes, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.

JSTOR

Contains the full-text of many of the classic political science journals back to their earliest issues.

Political Science Database

Access to hundreds of politics, public policy and international relations journals. It also includes full-text doctoral dissertations on politics topics, and working papers, conference proceedings, country reports and policy papers.

Abstracts and Indexes

Applied Social Sciences Indexes and Abstracts (ASSIA)

Provides abstracts from 650 journals published in more than 16 countries.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)

Bibliographic information from an international selection of publications, including more than 2,600 journals, in economics, politics, sociology and anthropology.

Observatory of International Research (OOIR)

Aims to list the latest articles from leading social science journals.

PAIS Index

Lists resources in the public debate, including journal articles, books, government documents, grey literature, research reports and conference papers.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (WPSA)

Abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from more than 750 core serials publications, and abstracts of book chapters, dissertations and working papers.

Citation searching

For citation searching, i. e. finding out what articles have cited an article or book after publication go to:

Social Science Citation Index

Part of Web of Science® which uses citations for relevance and article ranking.

SCOPUS

An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.

Google Books

To find articles and books cited within books try searching with the reference in quotation marks.

Google Scholar

Has 'cited by' links but these are not yet fully reliable.

Guide: Tables of Contents & Alerts

ZETOC

ZETOC logoProvides access to the British Library's Electronic Table of Contents of current journals and conference proceedings from 1993 to date, and is updated on a daily basis.

You can
•  Search for citations of journal articles and conference proceedings;
•  Set up, modify and delete email Alert;
•  or set up RSS feeds for journals.

JournalTOCs

A current awareness service where you can discover the newest papers coming directly from the publishers as soon as they have been published online.

More alerts and RSS feeds

Can be set up on SCOPUS and ProQuest to get updates on new content as it becomes available.

CAIRN

Cairn revues:
Political Science & Law

Offers a comprehensive online collection of francophone publications in social sciences and humanities with abstracts and selected articles from key journals translated into English.

Guide: Google Scholar

You can search for journal articles in Google scholar and use the "Find it @ Oxford" link to access electronic versions.