Skip to main content

Sociology: Journal Articles

Subjects: Sociology

Abstracts and Indexes

For structured literature searching try a combined search across Proquest social sciences bibliographic databases, or go to individual databases:

Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA)

Current research on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development;

Ethnic NewsWatch

An interdisciplinary full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press;

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)

Indexes journals across the social sciences in various languages;

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)

Indexed journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers in all aspects of the study of language;

Social Services Abstracts

Health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education;

Sociological Abstracts

Sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

EBSCOhost logoFor abstracts and indexes focused on more precise subjects you might try searching EBSCO's

Abstracts in Social Gerontology

Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of ageing, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other key areas of relevance to the discipline;

Anthropology Plus

A comprehensive index covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. This database offers worldwide indexing of journals from the early 19th century to today, providing extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, and commentaries;

Chicano Database

Provides coverage dating back to the 1960s and selective indexing dating back to the early 1900s. Subject coverage includes art, bilingual education, education, labor, literature, mental health, law, poetry, politics and sociology;

Child Development & Adolescent Studies

Today's source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Book reviews and abstracts from journals and a bibliography of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed;


Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records;

National Review Archive

Complete indexing & abstracting and full text coverage for all issues of the journal back to the first issue in 1955 through to the present which provides coverage of political, economic, social, and cultural issues and trends.

To find more sociology-related databases search or browse OXLIP+


Cairn revues (Humanities &Social Science)

The journal package gives access to over 190 electronic French journals relevant for economics, social and political sciences, history, literature, philosophy and otherwise general interest.
Coverage generally starts with 2001 issues and includes current content.

Full-text journals


Contains the full-text of many of the classic sociology journals, some as far back as the 1930s.

Directory of Open Access Journals DOAJ (Directory of Open access journals)

Community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Citation Searching

For citation searching, i.e. finding out what articles have cited an article or book after publication go to -

which uses citations for relevance and article ranking;


a bibliographic database for science, medicine and some social sciences going back as far as 1869;

Google scholar

also has 'cited by' links but these are not yet fully reliable.
You can search for journal articles and use the "Find it @ Oxford" link to access electronic versions. It is the largest database of scholarly literature and gives you quick, relevant results but sometimes too many, and it lacks search tools.
To find articles and books cited within books try searching Google books with the reference in quotation marks.
Google Books

TOCs & Alerts


Provides access to the British Library's Electronic Table of Contents of current journals and conference proceedings from 1993 to date, and is updated on a daily basis.
You can Search for citations of journal articles and conference proceedings; set up, modify and delete email Alert; or set up RSS feeds for journals.

The Journal TOCs service

Makes it easy to keep up-to-date with newly published scholarly material by enabling them to find, display, store, combine and reuse thousands of journal tables of contents from multiple publishers.

You can also set up alerts and RSS feeds on SCOPUS, as well as WPSA (Worldwide Political Science Abstracts) and IBSS (International Bibliography of the Social Sciences).