Skip to main content

Economics: Data & Statistics

General data resources

The UK Data Service (UKDS) provides a unified access to major UK government-sponsored surveys, cross-national surveys, longitudinal studies, UK census data, international aggregate, business data, and qualitative data.

UKDS.Stat


The UK Data Service platform for international macrodata hosts hundreds of economic and social datasets provided by the World Bank, OECD, International Monetary Fund, United Nations, and International Energy Agency, and Human Rights Atlas.
You can find comprehensive platform and data guides on accessing, exploring and visualising data in UKDS.Stat.

UK Data ArchiveUK Data Archive curates digital data in the social sciences and humanities in the UK, provides a range of services supporting creators and users of data.

Statistical OECD databases and series plus full-text books, periodicals and reports. Also available via UKDS.Stat. World Bank Open data provides free and open access to global development data, whereas DataBank offers an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics.  Data archive offering more than 500,000 digital files containing social science research data for US and international micro data.

Trade Statistics

UN Commodity Trade Statistics Database

Contains detailed import and export flow data for over 200 countries listed by commodity and partner country. These data are processed into a standard format with consistent coding and valuation. All values are converted into US dollars using exchange rates supplied by the countries, or derived from monthly market rates and volume of trade. Where possible quantities are converted into metric units. For many countries the data coverage starts as far back as 1962 and all go up to the most recent completed year.
Commodities are classified according to Standard International Trade Classification (SITC) and the Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System (HS). The original data are also converted and stored in alternative classifications.
Staff and students from UK Higher and further education institutions can access the premium service which allows to bulk download data via the UK Data Service.

Commodity Price Statistics from the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development

Provides monthly free-market prices and price indices starting in January 1960 for selected commodities that concern commodity-dependant countries. Price indices are provided for commodity groups (including food, tropical beverages, vegetable oilseeds and oils, agricultural raw materials, minerals, ores and metals), and for all groups in current dollars and SDRs. Additional features include: instability indices and trends in prices; annual maximum and minimum values of monthly price averages; and Commodity Price Bulletin in PDF format.

BACI

The World trade database developed by the CEPII at a high level of product disaggregation. Original data are provided by the United Nations Statistical Division (COMTRADE database). BACI is constructed using an original procedure that reconciles the declarations of the exporter and the importer. This harmonization procedure enables to extend considerably the number of countries for which trade data are available, as compared to the original dataset.

Market Research and Company data

Capital IQ combines information on companies, markets, and people worldwide with tools for analysis, financial modelling, market analysis, screening, targeting, and relationship and workflow management.
On-site access is available to undergraduates at designated PCs in the Social Science Library (SSL), on request to the SSL staff. NOTE: Postgraduates and members of faculty may lodge a request for an individual login.

EMIS (Emerging Markets Information Serice) - provides macro- and financial data from emerging market economies as well as news, business and financial sources.

A collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings - UK Industry Reports (UK SIC)US Industry Reports (NAICS)China Industry ReportsGlobal Industry ReportsUK Risk Ratings Reports
Passport - Home

Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database), an integrated online information system provides business intelligence on industries, countries and consumers.

fame - detailed information on UK and Irish companies.
orbis EUROPE - a pan-European database, formerly known as Amadeus contains financial information on public and private companies.
zephyr - comprehensive M&A data with integrated detailed company information.
For a comrehensive list of business resources see The Sainsbury Library: Key Business Resources libguide.

WRDS

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) - an interface provided by Wharton Business School, allowing access to a number of datasets for financial research and analysis: CISDM, Compustat NA, CRSP, CUISP, GovPX, I/B/E/S, NYSE TAQ, Thomson Reuters.
Note: Only academic staff and postgraduates may register for WRDS access by clicking on the link on the sign-in webpage.

Cross-national time-series

Databanks International:
Cross-National Time-Series (CNTS) Data Archive

This longitudinal national dataseries provides ranges of annual data from 1815 to the present for over 200 countries with 196 variables with comprehensive listing of international and national country data facts. General categories include demographic, social, political, and economic topics.
For more information about the dataset go to the publisher's site.

Country Reports

Global Financial Data - Contains a wealth of series for individual countries including historical financial data.
FACTIVA - Includes EIU monitors and Global Insight.
EIU.com - Produced by the Economist Intelligence Unit, it comprises executive briefings and industry briefings & forecasts.
Nexis UK - Global news and business information service has over 20,000 sources of authoritative news, company, financial and market research data.
Historical statistics of the United States- The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history.
China Data Online - The primary data source for China studies, provided by the China Data Center (University of Michigan). It includes statistical databases, census databases, and spatial data service (China Geo-Explorer).
Indiastat.com - The largest resource for Indian statistical data on health, higher education, agriculture, economic statistics and tourism related data et al.
Note that we only have a ONE user licence, so please logout as soon as you have finished.

Landscan

Landscan Global Population Database

A population database that maps geographical distribution of a populace within cells of one-kilometre resolution over a 24 hour period. This allows assessment, estimation and visualisation of populations reacting to disease outbreaks, social upheaval or natural disasters. The modelling process uses sub-national level census counts and other data for each country combined with high resolution imagery analysis.