Skip to main content

Zoology: Zoology Archives

Subjects: Biology, Zoology

Alexander Library of Ornithology

The Alexander Library holds the University's ornithological collections, including -

  • Books
  • Journals
  • Publications from ornithological societies
  • Rare printed ornithological works
  • Diaries, letters and notebooks of a number of ornithologists.

The Alexander Library is based in the Radcliffe Science Library and has limited opening hours. For further information please vist the Alexander Library LibGuide.

 

Wytham Wood

From 1990, publications have been included that are based on work carried out at the Wytham Field Station and farmland, and work that uses species from these areas. Use the link below to view listings of Wytham publications and theses on the main Radcliffe Science Library website.

Wytham publications

Transcribed Elton Archive

A number of the field notes and diaries of Charles Elton relating to University Arctic expeditions, work at the Bureau of Animal Populations and Wytham Woods have recently been transcribed and digitised. They have been made available to download freely from the ORA Data repository.

Archive Listings

Zoology Archives and Special Collections

There are a number of archives available in the Zoology collections. These archives are now mainly held off-site.

  • Undergraduate and MSc projects
  • Reprints
  • Zoology & Elton archives
  • Ornithology collections
  • Bibliography of Wytham Woods publications

Many of these items are not listed on SOLO, but can be searched by using a variety of finding aids.

Questions about searching or viewing the archives may be directed to the Biology and Forestry Subject Librarian - oliver.bridle@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Zoology & Elton Reprint Collections

Contents: Reprints of individual articles from journals and conference proceedings.

Location: Radcliffe Science Library, stored off-site.

Finding aids:  The contents of the reprint collection can be found listed on two local catalogues on RefWorks.

Elton reprints catalogue

Zoology reprints catalogue

Undergraduate and MSc Projects

Contents:  Past MSc and Undergraduate projects and essays.

Location: Undergraduate projects - Zoology department teaching laboratory.

              MSc Projects and Essays - Stored off-site.

Finding aids: Excel spreadsheets listing projects can be downloaded using the following links.

List of Biology Undergraduate Projects (1987-)

List of MSc Projects (1996-)

Archives

Contents:

Zoology Archive - research notes and other materials by Oxford zoologists from the late 19th to early 20th century, and photograph albums from the Challenger Expedition, 1872-1876. A spreadsheet detailing the contents of the Zoology archive is available for download from the box on the left of the screen. A record for the archive is also available on SOLO: http://solo/OXVU1:LSCOP_OX:oxfaleph020471350

Elton Archive - research materials produced by the Bureau of Animal Populations. A list of the contents of the Elton archive can be downloaded from the box on the left of the screen.

Location: Offsite at the Book Storage Facility (BSF), closed stack. Viewing is only possible by arrangement with the library. Please contact the Biology and Forestry Subject Librarian - oliver.bridle@bodleian.ox.ac.uk


Additional information:  More details on the archives can be found on the zoology collections webpage.

 

Contact the Librarian

If you have questions about the archives in zoology or ornithology, please contact the appropriate librarian for further information.

Zoology archive and collections

Oliver Bridle (oliver.bridle@bodleian.ox.ac.uk)

Alexander library and ornithology collections

Sophie Wilcox (sophie.wilcox@bodleian.ox.ac.uk)