Skip to main content

Zoology: Databases

Subjects: Biology, Zoology

Search SOLO

OxLIP+

Use OxLIP+ to browse or open Oxford's bibliographic databases and other online resources.

Click on the Subject tab and scroll down the list of categories to Biological Sciences.

View groupings for Bibliographic databases, Reference books, e-book collections, and websites in biological sciences.

You can find a full guide to OxLIP+ here - Guide to OxLIP+.

Document Supply

If Oxford doesn't have an article or book, get hold of it using our document supply service.

Bibliographic Databases

Oxford has many bibliographic databases available to members of the University. These can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, patents etc. Oxford members can access subscription databases via OxLip+.

Retrieving full text

Find it @ Oxford

This pop-up button shows which issues of a journal we have access to. Current issues and backfiles of the same journal often come from different suppliers. You will see this button appear in databases to which we subscribe. Clicking it will quickly allow you to see if a particular article or book you have found is available in print or electronic form at Oxford.

Remote Access

If you are a full current member of the University of Oxford, you can access most library electronic resources off-campus.

Use your Single Sign On (SSO)

Go to SOLO and click on Oxford Single Sign On (top right). For most of our e-books and e-journals this is all you need.

If you do not know your SSO details please visit the SSO section of the IT Services website .

VPN (Virtual Private Network)

Only necessary for a few library resources. With VPN you can access the University network as if you were on campus. Register with IT Services.

For further information see the Bodleian Libraries remote access guide.

Other Useful Guides