Skip to main content

Zoology: Journals

Subjects: Biology, Zoology

Search SOLO

Finding e-journals

E-journals

Many of our journals are available electronically. You can look for a journal title using SOLO or OU e-Journals.

If you are searching for a particular article or wish to find articles focused on a specific topic, you will need to use a bibliographic database. See the 'Databases' tab in this guide for more information.

Tip: When using OU e-Journals to find a journal, for a one-word title (e.g. 'Science') change the default search from Contains to Starts with or Exact.

Printed journals 

If an electronic version of a journal is not available, we may have it in print copy. Check SOLO for any printed copies in the library (usually older volumes).

Journal articles

Our library catalogue SOLO does not generally index individual articles, only journal titles. To search for journal articles you will will need to use a bibliographic database. These databases index the contents of thousands of journals and can be searched by author, title, topic, date etc.

Pre-prints and author manuscripts

Many academic institutions now collect peer-reviewed author manuscripts and pre-prints from their academics into digital repositories. This can provide easy open access to high quality scientific publications. You can find repositories and search their contents using the OpenDOAR directory.

Finding Printed Journals

Printed journals can be found using SOLO. Use the 'Journal' search limit in SOLO to refine your search results. SOLO can find journals by journal titles only. Non-abreviated journal titles should be used for searching. SOLO should not be used to search for individual article titles or authors.

Screen shot showing selection of journal only limit in SOLO

Electronic Legal Deposit Explained (video tutorial)

Some items on SOLO are subject to restrictions and display a notice stating that  "Online access is restricted: available via Bodleian Libraries reading room PCs only". These are items which the Bodleian Libraries receive under Electronic Legal Deposit.

This video tutorial, Electronic Legal Deposit Explained looks at what Electronic Legal Deposit is, what it covers and the restrictions imposed on Electronic Legal Deposit items.   Please note that the tutorial opens in a new window.  If you prefer to read about Electronic Legal Deposit rather than watching a video please skip to the text instructions.
 

 

Document Supply

If Oxford doesn't have an article or book, get hold of it using our document supply service.

Remote Access

If you are a full current member of the University of Oxford, you can access most library electronic resources off-campus.

Use your Single Sign On (SSO)

Go to SOLO and click on Oxford Single Sign On (top right). For most of our e-books and e-journals this is all you need.

If you do not know your SSO details please visit the SSO section of the IT Services website .

VPN (Virtual Private Network)

Only necessary for a few library resources. With VPN you can access the University network as if you were on campus. Register with IT Services.

For further information see the Bodleian Libraries remote access guide.

Other Useful Guides