Skip to main content

English at Oxford: Finding News

Subjects: English

News Websites

Remember when using websites to always evaluate the news you find. Even if you think you are reading a reputable news source, fake news can still be found.

General News Websites

Associated Press - Independent, non-for-profit news cooperative based in New York
AFP - International news agency based in France
Reuters - International multimedia news agency

 

Newspapers LibGuide

You can find more information about all the newspapers available, in both print and electronic, by visiting the Bodleian LibGuide: http://libguides.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/newspapers

Newspapers on Databases A-Z

You can find links to a large number of British and foreign newspapers in the Newspapers section on Databases A-Z

Individual titles include: the Guardian (1821-2003) /Observer (1791-2003), the Irish Times (1859-2007) and the Scotsman (1817-1950) - which are all available via Proquest Historical Newspapers; the Times Digital Archive and the Times Literary Supplement Centenary Archive.

There are also fully searchable newspaper collections, such as ProQuest Historical Newspapers, and the 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers and the 19th Century British Library Newspapers collections, and databases such as Nexis UK and Factiva, which include links to newspaper articles.

For help wth using some of these resources see the following guides:

17th-18th Century Burney Collection online help
19th Century British Newspapers online help
(These resources are only accessible from a computer connected to the University of Oxford network, or by logging on remotely using your SSO username and password)


Proquest Historical Newspapers online guide 

Nexis UK
Search for articles where the search term appears in the headline?
Search for two terms within the same sentence?
Search for articles from a particular publication?

(N.B. If you are not connected to the Oxford network you will need to login with your Oxford Single Sign On username and password to gain full access to the above online resources)