Use Cite Them Right to see examples of citations for a range of different sources.
An online referencing tools which gives examples and generates citations from a choice of 7 referencing systems for print and electronic formats. The citations can be copied into your work or emailed. The referencing systems are Harvard (author-date), APA, MLA, MHRA, OSCOLA, Vancouver and Chicago. Citations can be created for a very diverse range of sources, including books, journals, digital resources and websites, audiovisual material, unpublished material (theses, manuscripts, etc.), financial & scientific reports, genealogical sources (wills, censuses, etc.), legal material, government and other official publications, and other forms of communication sources (email, Twitter, graffiti, etc.). Note that “Manuscripts” are located in Book > More books.
Access to business and management journals and trade publications.
Alternative names: ABI Inform Global ; ABI Global Package
Business, Finance, Economics: journals, company profiles, Wall Street Journal.
Most scholarly and comprehensive way to explore and understand business research topics. Search nearly 1800 worldwide business periodicals for in-depth coverage of business and economic conditions, management techniques, theory, and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Expanded international coverage. Fast access to information on 60,000 + companies with business and executive profiles. Now includes The Wall Street Journal.
Alternative nams: ABI Inform Trade and Industry ; ABI Trade & Industry
Business, Economics: trade and industry periodicals and newsletters.
Search more than 750 business periodicals and newsletters with a trade or industry focus. Provides users with the latest industry news, product and competitive information, marketing trends, and a wide variety of other topics. Contains publications on every major industry, including finance, insurance, transportation, construction, and many more.
Profiles of over 770,000 of the world's business leaders. Access via WRDS. Click on 'Register' to set up an account (please note that only academic staff and postgraduates may register for WRDS access).
Access to business and management journals and trade publications, including the full-text of Harvard Business Review.
This is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the ultimate collection of bibliographic and full text content. Business Source Complete contains far more active, peer-reviewed, business related journals than any other database currently available. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back to 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Information on companies, markets, and people worldwide with tools for analysis. Please email firstname.lastname@example.org to request access.
Capital IQ combines information on companies, markets, and people worldwide with tools for analysis, financial modelling, market analysis, screening, targeting, and relationship and workflow management.
NOTE: Postgraduates and members of faculty may lodge a request for an individual login at
On-site access is available to undergraduates at designated PCs in the Social Science Library (SSL), on request to the SSL staff.
Database of financial, statistical and market information on active and inactive global companies throughout the world. Access via WRDS. Click on 'Register' to set up an account (please note that only academic staff and postgraduates may register for WRDS access).
Global company, industry and economic data with deep historical time series available. Email email@example.com to request access. This product replaces both Thomson One and DataStream. Also accessible on 2 PCs in the Sainsbury Library for SBS members. Undergraduate SBS students must use these PCs to access Eikon.
The Economist Intelligence Unit. Management thinking and latest global reports for the automotive; consumer goods; energy; financial services; healthcare; and telecoms & technology sectors.
Alternative names: Economist Intelligence Unit ; EIU Executive Briefing
EIU.com is produced by the Economist Intelligence Unit and comprises Executive Briefings and Industry Briefings and Forecasts. The Executive Briefings will help global executives develop their business strategies and provides management analysis in six categories: Global business, Strategy and competition, Sales and marketing, Finance and performance, Technology and operations and Leadership. The Industry Briefings and Analysis component focuses on six industry sectors: Automotive, Consumer Goods, Energy, Financial Services, Healthcare and Telecoms and Technology.
News and reports on 70 emerging markets, including China and the Arab world.
Alternative name: EMIS
EMIS delivers news, company and financial data direct from more than 70 emerging markets in Asia, Latin America, Central and Eastern Europe, the Middle East and Africa. It gives emerging market specialists worldwide one-stop Internet access to mission-critical information straight from the local markets and from over 10,500 publications. Whether they are looking for current news, hard-to-get company and industry information, financial markets data or macroeconomic analysis, EMIS offers the definitive solution for convenient access of emerging markets business intelligence.
Updated daily, our sources are categorized, archived, indexed and fully searchable via a uniquely intuitive and customizable interface. Supporting 20 languages, the service is designed for speed and ease of use. Over 2250 institutional clients rely on EMIS every day to research companies, investigate industries and track developments that impact their business.
Top executives' salary, bonus, and stock option data since 1992 is available. Access via WRDS (click on Compustat to view Execucomp). Click on 'Register' to set up an account (please note that only academic staff and postgraduates may register for WRDS access).
A news database providing daily, up-to-date articles from thousands of newspapers, trade journals and newswires from across the globe.
Factiva, a Dow Jones & Reuters Company, provides essential business news and information together with the content delivery tools and services that enable professionals to make better decisions faster. Factiva's unrivalled collection of more than 10,000 authoritative sources includes thousands of current newspapers, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and D&B company profiles.
Factiva's innovative, XML-based and Web services-enabled technology platform provides access to this rich content collection via Factiva's role-specific products or through customized enterprise, group or personal solutions. Executives, information professionals, marketers, salespeople, and other professionals can easily monitor and understand the latest news, market trends, and business challenges relevant to them directly from the Microsoft Office and job-specific applications they use every day.
FAME is a database that contains information for companies in the UK and Ireland. FAME contains information on 3.4 million companies, 2.4 million of which are in a detailed format.
For the top 2.4 million companies the reports typically include: contact information including phone, e-mail and web addresses plus main and other trading addresses, activity details, 29 profit and loss account and 63 balance sheet items, cash flow and ratios, credit score and rating, security and price information (listed companies only), names of bankers, auditors, previous auditors and advisors, details of holdings and subsidiaries (including foreign holdings and subsidiaries), names of current and previous directors with home addresses and shareholder indicator, heads of department, shareholders, news plus access to the scanned image of the latest annual returns and reports. In addition to the existing ratios you can also create your own that you can display in the reports and also use in your searches and analyses.
Archived scans of every page of every edition of the FT from the first edition in 1888 to the end of 2016.
Alternative name: FT
The Financial Times Historical Archive provides an online, fully-searchable facsimile run of the London edition of the FT, from its first issue in 1888 to the end of 2016. Each item in this complete collection is categorized by both subject and topic, with every individual article, advertisement and market listing included and searchable for retrieval individually and in the context of the full page and issue of the day.
Access to FT.com. See below for instructions on how to register for your FT.com account.
Alternative names: FT ; FT.com
The subscription includes access to subscriber-rated content and a Power Search facility that gives access to 8 years of the FT, along with 22 million articles from 500 of the world's leading business press publications.
NOTE: To access the service please ensure that you register with a username (the username will require a University email address ending in .ox.ac.uk) and a password of your choice by clicking on "Join Now" on the pop-up (it may take a short time to appear).
To register off-campus please use the URL on the Weblearn page.
A source for historical stock market, financial, and economic data unavailable from any other online source. Provided in ASCII or Excel format
The Global Financial Database is an unparalleled collection of financial and economic data provided in ASCII or Excel format. Any of our 20,000 historical or current data series may be immediately downloaded directly from our web site. It is a source for historical stock market, financial, and economic data unavailable from any other online source. The GFD Database includes over 20,000 current and historical data series covering over 200 countries that have been collected from original sources. In fact, many of our series extend back more than two centuries.
The GFD Database has been created using original data sources. The data have been verified prior to being included in the Database. We continue to offer new data series and extend existing series whenever possible. We also maintain an unsurpassed collection of Total Return data on Stocks, Bonds, and Bills, as well as many other proprietary data series which many of our clients choose to license in place of costly series from other data vendors.
This database contains annual reports for over 800 US companies (1844-current), which are available through searchable pdf images. The collection includes digital reproductions of over 1.3 million pages found in more than 43,000 reports. Key data (financial, Fortune 500 ranking, industry classification, key people, geographic location, auditor, and related companies) are indexed in the citation and can be searched. Reports can be browsed by company name, industry or date.
Electronic back issues of older issues of academic journals.
JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.
Originally conceived as a project at The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, JSTOR began as an effort to ease the increasing problems faced by libraries seeking to provide adequate shelf space for the long runs of backfiles of scholarly journals. JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.
Providing essential information about automotive production from countries around the world. Requires special login, contact Becci Hutchins (firstname.lastname@example.org) or Hal Kirkwood (email@example.com).
International market and industry reports, company annual reports from 1900-1996, and Moody’s corporate manuals from 1909.
Mergent Archives provides access to historical annual reports dating back to 1909. It also provides access to digitized Moody’s reports from 1909, equity research reports for US and Canadian companies and some global industry reports.
Alternative names: LexisNexis Business & News ; Lexis Nexis Business & News
The news coverage offered by Nexis UK - Global news and business information service has over 20,000 sources of authoritative news, company, financial and market research data.
The complete, fully customisable, online news and business research service bringing together in a single source, all news, financial and business information licensed by LexisNexis for the academic market from around the globe.
The OECD produces annual, quarterly and monthly data for around 3,800 economic indicators.
Main Economic Indicators
The OECD produces annual, quarterly and monthly data for around 3,800 economic indicators. The variables cover national accounts, industrial production, employment, prices, business trends and trade. The dataset also includes the OECD's leading indicators (key variables that signal changes in the business cycle). Runs from January 1960 to the current month.
OECD Structural Analysis (STAN)
This portfolio includes four databases each useful at different units of analyses. The STAN indicatorsÆ industry list is based upon ISIC revision 3 and covers 65 sectors where detailed information varies across country, indicator, and coverage: STAN fills the gap between Industrial survey data (microdata) and National level aggregate statistics (macrodata). You can use STAN to analyse industrial structure and the evolution of industrial performance (e.g. import penetration, investment per employee, export market shares) within and across countries. The databases are updated on an annual basis and run from 1970 onwards.
OECD National Accounts
The OECD National Accounts presents a series of databases all containing data related to national accounts and its components including comparable statistics for key indicators. Countries covered vary but generally include OECD countries and a select group of non-OECD countries. The database is updated on a quarterly and annual basis and runs from 1955.
Main Science and Technology Indicators
The 149 Main Science and Technology Indicators provides final or provisional results and government forecasts covering such topics as resources devoted to research and development, patent families, the technology balance of payments, and international trade in highly Research and Development intensive industries.
Measuring Globalisation 2001
The Measuring Globalisation Statistics database contains figures on foreign affiliates (inward investment) by investing country in the manufacturing sector covering variable
Books and research papers published by the OECD and international statistics. A trial of UN iLibrary is now also available though OECD iLibrary.
Alternative names: SourceOECD ; Source OECD
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics. It is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data with online access provided for all publications and statistics released since 1998.
The iLibrary covers 17 key themes including development, economics, governance, trade and social issues, migration and health. As of March 2013 content includes 5 billion data points across 42 databases; 44,630 tables and graphs; 8,330 ebook titles; 30,280 chapters; and 1,920 key tables.
Please note, IEA statistics are not included in our subscription.
Financial data for both public and private companies in Europe.
Alternative names: Orbis Company Data ; amadeus
ORBIS Europe is a comprehensive, pan-European database containing financial information on over 11 million public and private companies in 41 European countries. The database provides standardised annual accounts (for up to 10 years), consolidated and unconsolidated, financial ratios, activities and ownership details.
Online access to Oxford University Press reference publications.
Alternative names: ORO ; Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online brings together over 175 Quick Reference works published by Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource, including a broad subject range from the acclaimed Oxford Companions Series.
The Premium Collection covers English and bilingual dictionaries, English grammar and usage guides, Quotations and Subject-specific reference works.
It is updated regularly with new titles, new editions, new entries, full-colour maps and illustrations, timelines, weblinks, and bibliographies. This now includes the Western Civilization and Literature Collections.
Statistics, overviews and comment on industry, country and consumer trends.
Alternative names: Euromonitor ; Global Market Information Database
Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database) is an integrated online information system providing business intelligence on industries, countries and consumers. It includes statistics, full market reports and comment on emerging industry, country and consumer trends.
Access to the abstracts of dissertations and theses worldwide.
Alternative names: PQDT; PQDTGlobal; ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: Global (PQDTGlobal) is the world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. As the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and as the database of record for graduate research, PQDTGlobal includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
More than 70,000 new full-text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year through dissertations publishing partnerships with 700 leading academic institutions worldwide, and collaborative retrospective digitization of dissertations. Full-text dissertations are archived as submitted by the degree-granting institution. Some will be native PDF, some PDF image.
Each dissertation published since July, 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Where available, PQDTGlobal provides 24-page previews of dissertations and theses.
Market reports and analysis on the 50+ most important global grocery markets. It also has news and reports about individual grocery retailers.
Retail Analysis provides market reports and analysis on the 50+ most important global grocery markets. It also contains news and reports on all of the significant grocery retailers within those markets. Its Datacentre provides a range of datatypes for 220 retail groups and their 1,070 operations as well as country specific data.
Financial information for companies in Spain and Portugal.
A Bureau van Dijk financial database containing comprehensive information on companies in Spain and Portugal. It may be used to research individual companies, search for companies with specific profiles and conduct analyses. Information includes company financials, financial strength indicators, stock data, corporate structures, mergers and acquisitions deals and maps and cartographic analysis.
Access to the full text of a wide range of social science journals as well as other disciplines.
Scopus is a bibliographic database for science, medicine and some social sciences. It covers 15,000 journals from 4,000 publishers worldwide, providing access to over 33 million abstracts going back as far as 1869.
It includes the content from a number of other major databases: Medline (medicine) 1966 - , Embase (medicine) 1970 - , Compendex (engineering) 1970 - , Geobase (geography) 1980 - .
Global coverage of over 50,000 listed and non-listed, central and subsidiary banks as well as insurers and insurance subsidiaries. Go to https://www.snl.com/ to set up an account - you must do this either while using the Oxford network, or using an Oxford VPN.
Provides access to and cross-searching of databases in the science, technology, engineering, mathematics, medicine, social sciences and humanities. It includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Citation Index. Also provides access to Journal Citation Reports for sciences and social sciences.
(WRDS) Access to a number of datasets for financial research and analysis. Click on 'Register' to set up an account (please note that only academic staff and postgraduates may register for WRDS access).
Alternative name: WRDS
WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) is a cross-database financial research tool, developed by the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania. Individual accounts for WRDS are available for faculty, doctoral students and research assistants within the University of Oxford, and faculty can request the setup of classroom accounts for teaching purposes. Click on Account Request to request an account setup. Please contact firstname.lastname@example.org with any enquiries.
Table of contents alerts for academic journal and conference proceedings.
Alternative name: British Library's Electronic Table of Contents
Zetoc provides access to the British Library's Electronic Table of Contents of around 20,000 current journals and around 16,000 conference proceedings published per year. The database covers 1993 to date, and is updated on a daily basis. It includes an email alerting service, to enable you to keep up-to-date with relevant new articles and papers.
Zetoc Alert is a current awareness service that sends you email alerts matching the search criteria that you have provided whenever new data is loaded into the database. The searches may be for particular journals, for authors and for keywords from the titles of articles and papers. These email Alerts will be sent on the day the new data is loaded into the database.
To take advantage of the ZETOC Alerts service you will need to login using your Oxford Single Sign On (SSO) username and password.
Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you). You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout