Skip to main content

Books, journals and e-resources on Physiotherapy: Home

Subjects: Medicine

UpToDate

UpToDate includes more than 7400 peer reviewed topics covering the whole spectrum of medicine. There are many Topic Reviews relevant to physiotherapy for example fractures. It is accessible via the Oxford University Hospitals NHS FoundationTrust intranet, and from other PCs using your NHS Athens login (Your NHS Athens account must be affiliated to Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust) .

An app for UpToDate Anywhere is also available - see library staff for assistance

BMJ Best Practice

BMJ Best Practice is a single source combining the latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion – presented in a step-by-step approach and covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. It is regularly updated. There are many orthopaedic -related topics covered.

It is accessible from any PC using your NHS Athens login (accounts affiliated to Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust).

There is also an app that users can download.  Access to the BMJ Best Practice app is via an institutional number - see library staff for details 

Search the catalogue

Search SOLO directly from this box.

Tip: Limit your SOLO search to items in the Health Care Libraries , by changing the drop-down option 'All libraries / collections' to 'Health Care Libraries'

Useful resouces

PEDro

PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 25,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy

http://www.pedro.org.au/

Journals on Physiotherapy

Current journal subscriptions available from Oxford University PCs via OXLIP+ in the Cairns Library JR or Knowledge Centre, Churchill

Advances in Physiotherapy

Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabiliation

Australian Journal of Physiotherapy (most recent year not available)

European Journal of Physiotherapy

Hong Kong Physiotherapy Journal

Manual Therapy

Physical Therapy (most recent year not available)

Physical Therapy in Sport

Physiotherapy

Physiotherapy Canada (most recent year not available)

Physiotherapy Theory and Practice

Physical and Occupational Therapy in Geriatrics

Physical and Occupational Therapy in Pediatrics

Rehabiliation Research and Practice

Annals of Physical and Rehabilitation Medicine

Finding the Evidence

Register for an NHS Athens account here. This gives access to journal articles held in Medline, Embase, CINAHL, BNI, PsycINFO and AMED databases which cover physiotherapy. Some will have links through to the full text where the NHS has a subscription to that journal, some will have just an abstract/summary.

If you are a member of Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust staff, contact the Outreach Librarian for Physiotherapy for help with accessing the full text of articles,  literature searches, one-to-one training on using NHS Athens databases and/or to arrange a group training event.

Selected books on physiotherapy

Below are a selection of books on physiotherapy held in the Cairns Library at the John Radcliffe Hospital and in the Radcliffe Science Library. They are available for loan (or reference if held in Radcliffe Science Library) to members of Bodleian Health Care Libraries  

Books on physiotherapy held in the Radcliffe Science Library can be requested up the the JR Cairns Library or to the Knowledge Centre for reference and use in the library only. Please ask at the Help Desk if the book you require is in the Radcliffe Science Library and we can place a "hold" on it and get it requested for you.

Subject Guide

Liz Callow's picture
Liz Callow
Contact:
Cairns Library
John Radcliffe Hospital
Headington
OXFORD
OX3 9DU
01865 740471

Cairns Library

Find us: John Radcliffe Hospital

Contact us: 01865 221936 or

hcl-enquiries@bodleian.ox.ac.uk www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/medicine

Horton Library

Find us: Horton General Hospital

Contact us: 01295 229316

library@ouh.nhs.uk
www.ouhlibrary.com

Knowledge Centre

Find us: Old Road Campus Research Building

Contact us: 01865 225815 or

hcl-enquiries@bodleian.ox.ac.uk www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/medicine

Girdlestone Memorial (NOC) Library

Find us: Nuffield Orthopaedic Centre

Contact us: 01865 738147

hcl-enquiries@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
http://www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/medicine

 

Radcliffe Science Library