Are you an Oxford Fresher?
Library Assistant is our online guide to library services for new undergraduate students. It is adapted to work on smartphones and tablets so you can access it anywhere. You can use Library Assistant to -
- Find libraries around Oxford
- Get help finding books on your reading lists
- Get information about library WiFi, passwords and photocopying
- ...and much more
Visit Library Assistant at -
Library Assistant QR Code
Scan the QR code below using your smartphone or tablet to get directly to Library Assistant
The Radcliffe Science Library
The RSL is the University's main science library. It provides access to our printed collections and electronic resources, and services such as photocopying, printing and scanning, microfilm readers and document supply. Find out more on the Science Libraries Website.
Contacting the Library
Email us at firstname.lastname@example.org
Or telephone: +44 (0)1865-272800
This guide aims to list useful resources (print or online) and tools for all biologists and to encourage you to seek help concerning finding information, making best use of libraries and of online resources.
- Radcliffe Science Library. Its website has details of opening hours, location, borrowing services and collections.
- The Sherardian Library of Plant Taxonomy is based in the Department of Plant Sciences. It is managed in association with the Oxford University Herbaria, which contain specimens to which many of the printed and manuscript works in the library collections relate. They contain both modern floras and species monographs, mainly housed in the Herbaria but available to all library users, and historic works, many of which are grouped in the Sherard Collection.
- The Alexander Library is a specialist collection of ornithological literature from all over the world, based in the Zoology Department. Its website gives details of its access arrangements and collections.
Other libraries in Oxford and further afield also hold information of interest to Zoologists -
Oxford University Museum of Natural History - The Hope Library contains a specialist entomology collection.
Natural History Museum, London - Extensive library collections in many branches of Zoology.
British Library - Extensive collections in all branches of science and medicine.