Skip to main content

Ancient Near Eastern Studies: Home

The Sackler Library is the premier research library for Ancient Near Eastern Studies at the University of Oxford. It incorporates the libraries previously housed in the Griffith Institute and the Ashmolean Museum.
Subjects: Ancient Near East

Ancient Near Eastern Studies Subject Librarian

Susanne Woodhouse                                        
Sackler Library
Bodleian Libraries
University of Oxford 

e-mail: susanne.woodhouse@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
web: https://www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/sackler

blog: http://blogs.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/sackler/

Key Resources

SOLO - Oxford's union catalogue for the holdings of university, departmental and college libraries as well as e-resources available to Oxford researchers.

E-Journals A-Z - Compilation of all electronic journals available through SOLO.

Database A-Z - Compilation of library databases.

ORA - Oxford's University Research Archive.

COPAC - Union catalogue for the holdings of UK research libraries.

WorldCat - Massive union catalogue of countless libraries worldwide. Useful for finding books and archival materials beyond Oxford.

Other links

Basics & Getting started - Finding and borrowing physical and electronic books by using SOLO, finding and using eresources, finding and using journals and articles, special collections, finding information about Oxford libraries, printing/photocopying/scanning (PCAS), WiFi and passwords.

Research and Resources Guides - A wide range of research, resource and library guides are available from our LibGuides service.

Collection overview

The Sackler Library is the premier research library for Ancient Near Eastern Studies at the University of Oxford. An additional resource especially for rare and manuscript material for this subject is the Bodleian Library. Anyone studying or researching Egyptology in Oxford should expect to make use of both libraries.

The Wolfson College Library houses good resource for Ancient Near Eastern Studies.

 


 

Libraries & Reading Rooms: Principal collections

The Sackler Library is home to the main research collections in Ancient Near Eastern Studies as well as Egyptology, Classics and Ancient History, Papyrology, Numismatics, Archaeology, Eastern Art and Western Art. This unique combination of subjects in one building enables interdisciplinary research to the effect that all aspects and periods of Ancient Near Eastern Studies are fully covered to and excluding the coming of Islam.

The majority of books relevant to Ancient Near Eastern Studies in the Sackler Library are on open shelves on the first floor of the Sackler Library. Many of the books and periodicals in the collection may be borrowed, although major reference works and rare material are confined to the library.

The Bodleian Library has, by virtue of its copyright library status, accumulated a comprehensive collection of books in the field of British Ancient Near Eastern Studies. There are also numerous works on travel in the Near East, especially before the 20th century. The great majority of this material is not on open access.

Libraries & Reading Rooms: Associated collections

Wolfson College Library holds the Jeremy Black Collection in Ancient Near Eastern Studies. It welcomes qualified students and researchers to consult the collections during library staff hours. 

Related Oxford University Institutions

Ashmolean Museum - The Ashmolean’s collections from ancient Egypt and Sudan are among the most extensive in Britain, with approximately 50,000 objects representing every period of human occupation in the Nile Valley from prehistory to the 7th century AD.

Griffith Institute - The Griffith Institute provides vital resources for the study of the history and culture of ancient Egypt and the Near East, which may be accessed directly, or online.

Oriental Institute - The OI is home to the University's Faculty of Oriental Studies.

Pitt Rivers Museum - Founded in 1884 the Pitt Rivers Museum houses the archaeological and anthropological collections of the University of Oxford.

Wilfred Thesiger Web Gallery - Sir Wilfred Thesiger, the distinguished explorer and travel writer, took some 38,000 photographs in over fifty years of travelling in the Middle East, Asia and Africa. The total collection forms an unparalleled historical document of the regions in which he travelled and the peoples he encountered, and it is now preserved in the Photograph Collections of the Pitt Rivers Museum. The aim of this gallery is to introduce a selection of some 100 of Thesiger's less well-known images.

Exhibitions

Lawrence of Oxford (7 November 2018 - 1 May 2019) - This exhibition on T.E. Lawrence is staged by Magdalen Libraries and Archives.  

Journey of a Lifetime (13 November - 14 December 2018) - This exhibition at the Oxford Centre for Islamic Studies documents the historic visit of HRH Princess Alice to Saudi Arabia in 1938.